St. Louis City SC

St. Louis CITY SC Captain Roman Bürki Named 2023 Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

November 9, 2023 - Major League Soccer (MLS)
St. Louis City SC News Release

ST. LOUIS - St. Louis CITY SC captain Roman Bürki garnered the overwhelming vote of the MLS Players, Club and Media to be named the 2023 Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year, the league announced. Bürki is the first goalkeeper to win the award while playing for an expansion club in its inaugural MLS season since Chicago Fire FC's Zach Thornton won it in 1998. He is the first-ever St. Louis CITY SC player to earn an individual MLS Year-End Award honor.

Bürki led the league in goals prevented at 11.9 per OPTA, which is a stat that subtracts the number of goals a GK has conceded from the number of goals a GK would be expected to conced based on the quality of the shots they faced. The Swiss goalkeeper finished 3.35 better than San Jose's Daniel, who finished with 8.65 goals prevented in just 22 games played. New England's Petrovic (6.19 goals prevented/22 games), Charlotte's Kahlina (5.83 goals prevented/24 games played) and Dallas's Paes (4.90 goals prevented/30 games played) rounded out the top five.

Bürki's 17 wins is the most of any goalkeeper in their first MLS season during the post-shootout era and is tied with Mark Dodd and Mark Dougherty (both in 1996) for the most wins including the shootout era. The Switzerland international is the first goalkeeper to produce at least 120 saves and eight clean sheets in a season since Vito Mannone in 2019, and he has the second highest save percentage of all goalkeepers to keep at least eight clean sheets this season.

The Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year, which honors the best goalkeeper in MLS during the 2023 regular season, was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media, and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results, with finalists Roman Celentano (FC Cincinnati) and Pedro Gallese (Orlando City SC) finishing tied for second in the voting:

Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Voting Breakdown

Name Player Vote Club Vote Media Vote Average Vote

Roman Burki (STL) 60.61% 70.74% 71.1% 67.48%

Roman Celetano (CIN) 6.06% 4.89% 3.47% 4.80%

Pedro Gallese (ORL) 3.03% 7.32% 4.05% 4.80%

A full list of previous Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year award winners can be found below:

Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Winners

Season Player Club

2023 Roman Bürki St. Louis CITY SC

2022 Andre Blake Philadelphia Union

2021 Matt Turner New England Revolution

2020 Andre Blake Philadelphia Union

2019 Vito Mannone Minnesota United FC

2018 Zack Steffen Columbus Crew

2017 Tim Melia Sporting Kansas City

2016 Andre Blake Philadelphia Union

2015 Luis Robles New York Red Bulls

2014 Bill Hamid D.C. United

2013 Donovan Ricketts Portland Timbers

2012 Jimmy Nielsen Sporting Kansas City

2011 Kasey Keller Seattle Sounders FC

2010 Donovan Ricketts LA Galaxy

2009 Zach Thornton Chivas USA

2008 Jon Busch Chicago Fire

2007 Brad Guzan Chivas USA

2006 Troy Perkins D.C. United

2005 Pat Onstad San Jose Earthquakes

2004 Joe Cannon Colorado Rapids

2003 Pat Onstad San Jose Earthquakes

2002 Joe Cannon San Jose Earthquakes

2001 Tim Howard MetroStars

2000 Tony Meola Kansas City Wizards

1999 Kevin Hartman LA Galaxy

1998 Zach Thornton Chicago Fire

1997 Brad Friedel Columbus Crew

1996 Mark Dodd Dallas Burn

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 9, 2023

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central