Sports stats

 Major League Soccer

FC Cincinnati's Luciano Acosta Wins 2023 AT&T 5G MLS Goal of the Year

November 9, 2023 - Major League Soccer (MLS) News Release

NEW YORK - Major League Soccer today announced that FC Cincinnati's Luciano Acosta has won the 2023 AT&T 5G MLS Goal of the Year for his spectacular solo goal in the 78th minute against Charlotte FC on Saturday, Sept. 23.

The Argentinian dazzled the home crowd as he left Charlotte defenders in his wake en route to a phenomenal individual goal-scoring effort. Acosta began the run by nutmegging his defender at the half line before gliding by an incoming slide tackle from a second defender for a straight charge at goal. He then turned his third and final defender inside out to open space for a right-footed shot that found the top corner of the net with ease to cap off the AT&T 5G MLS Goal of the Year effort.

The 2023 AT&T 5G MLS Goal of the Year was determined by fan votes on and has been awarded since the league's inaugural 1996 season.

Access Video Assets of FC Cincinnati's Luciano Acosta 2023 AT&T 5G MLS Goal of the Year here.A full list of previous AT&T 5G MLS Goal of the Year award winners can be found below:

All-Time AT&T 5G MLS Goal of the Year Winners

Season Player - Team Goal

2023 Luciano Acosta - FC Cincinnati 9/23/23 vs. Charlotte FC, 78th min

2022 Josef Martínez - Atlanta United 10/1/22 vs. New England Revolution, 81st min

2021 Rubio Rubin - Real Salt Lake 5/7/21 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 43rd min

2020 Darlington Nagbe - Columbus Crew SC 8/20/20 vs. Chicago Fire FC, 81st min

2019 Josef Martínez - Atlanta United 9/18/19 vs. FC Cincinnati, 65th min

2018 Zlatan Ibrahimović - LA Galaxy 3/31/18 vs. LAFC, 77th min

2017 Héctor Villalba - Atlanta United 7/21/17 vs. Orlando City SC, 86th min

2016 Shkëlzen Gashi - Colorado Rapids 9/24/16 vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC, 75th min

2015 Krisztián Németh - Sporting Kansas City 10/4/15 vs. Portland Timbers, 83rd min

2014 Obafemi Martins - Seattle Sounders FC 5/23/14 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 8th min

2013 Camilo Sanvezzo - Vancouver Whitecaps FC 10/6/13 vs. Portland Timbers, 78th min

2012 Patrick Ianni - Seattle Sounders FC 6/20/12 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 15th min

2011 Darlington Nagbe - Portland Timbers 7/2/11 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 45th min

2010 Marco Pappa - Chicago Fire 4/10/10 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 52nd min

2009 Landon Donovan - LA Galaxy 8/8/09 vs. New England Revolution, 21st min

2008 Will Johnson - Real Salt Lake 10/18/08 vs. FC Dallas, 54th min

2007 Cuauhtémoc Blanco - Chicago Fire 8/18/07 vs. Real Salt Lake, 43rd min

2006 Brian Ching - Houston Dynamo 9/30/06 v D.C. United, 86th min

2005 Dwayne De Rosario - San Jose Earthquakes 10/15/05 vs. LA Galaxy, 45th min

2004 Dwayne De Rosario - San Jose Earthquakes 8/7/04 vs. D.C. United, 82nd min

2003 Damani Ralph - Chicago Fire 8/13/03 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 90th min

2002 Carlos Ruiz - LA Galaxy 7/27/02 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 75th min

2001 Clint Mathis - MetroStars 4/28/01 vs. Dallas Burn, 60th min

2000 Marcelo Balboa - Colorado Rapids 4/22/00 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 55th min

1999 Marco Etcheverry - D.C. United 5/22/99 vs. Miami Fusion, 90th min

1998 Brian McBride - Columbus Crew 7/9/98 vs. Chicago Fire, 68th min

1997 Marco Etcheverry - D.C. United 8/27/97 vs. New England Revolution, 39th min

1996 Eric Wynalda - San Jose Clash 4/6/96 vs. D.C. United, 88th min

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 9, 2023

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central