NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Former Barnstormers Coach John Gregory Nominated for AFL Hall of Fame

June 24, 2013 - Arena Football League (AFL) - Iowa Barnstormers News Release

CHICAGO - After tallying the nominations put forth by the Arena Football Hall of Fame Advisory Board, the Arena Football League has named ten finalists for the Arena Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013. This year's list of finalists includes former Iowa Barnstormers Head Coach John Gregory.

Gregory enjoyed an AFL coaching career that lasted over 15 season. He returned to his native state of Iowa in 1995 to Coach the upstart Barnstormers. He coached the team for six seasons, and was named AFL coach of the year twice. He also led the Barnstormers to the ArenaBowl twice. Gregory moved on with the team to New York in 2001 and remained head coach for 3 more seasons. In 2004 he coached the Carolina Cobras for one season. He moved on to Coach the Arkansas Twisters (af2) for three seasons before returning to Iowa for the re-birth of the Barnstormers in 2008. In 12 seasons in the AFL, Gregory compiled a record of 76-67. When you add in his 5 seasons as an af2 coach, his record stands at 123-99.

Other finalists for the 2013 Arena Football Hall of Fame include: WR/LB CORY FLEMING, a five-time All-Arena selection; WR/LB DARRYL HAMMOND, a four-time All-Ironman selection; WR/LB GREG HOPKINS, a four-time All-Arena and All-Ironman selection; QB ANDY KELLY, the 10th Greatest Quarterback in AFL History as voted on by the Silver Anniversary Committee in 2012; FB/LB BOB McMILLEN, a three-time ArenaBowl champion; SUPERVISOR OF OFFICIALS CARL T. PAGANELLI, a longtime AFL official, advisor and contributor to the League; OS STEVE PAPIN, a two-time All-Arena selection who holds the League record for highest all-purpose yard-per-game average (200.4); WR/LB LAWRENCE SAMUELS, a five-time All-Arena selection, three-time ArenaBowl champion and MVP of ArenaBowl XVII; and DS OMARR SMITH, a four-time ArenaBowl champion who holds the record for most career ArenaBowl tackles (35).

"The Hall of Fame Advisory Board has nominated ten tremendous and very deserving finalists for this Hall of Fame Class," AFL Commissioner Jerry B. Kurz said.

Fans and current Hall of Fame members will vote on the finalists beginning on Monday, June 24, 2012. Votes will then be turned into the Hall of Fame Operating Board of Directors. The 2013 Hall of Fame Class will be announced during the 2013 Conference Championship weekend and inductions will be held during the 2014 Arena Football League regular season.

• Discuss this story on the Arena Football League message board...

Arena Football League Stories from June 24, 2013

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Iowa Barnstormers Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central