Looking for stats?

AHL Approves Sale of Peoria Franchise

April 18, 2013 - American Hockey League (AHL) - Peoria Rivermen News Release

American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced today that the league's Board of Governors has approved the following:

. The relocation of the franchise owned by the National Hockey League's Minnesota Wild from Houston, Texas, to Des Moines, Iowa, beginning with the 2013-14 season.

. The transfer of ownership of the Peoria Rivermen franchise from the St. Louis Blues to the Aquilini Investment Group, owners of the NHL's Vancouver Canucks. No determination has been made relative to the operation of the franchise for the 2013-14 season.

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. Nearly 90 percent of all players competing in the NHL are AHL graduates, and through the years the American Hockey League has been home to more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame. The 2012-13 regular season ends on Sunday, and then 16 clubs will continue to vie for the league's coveted championship trophy when the 2013 Calder Cup Playoffs get underway next week.

• Discuss this story on the American Hockey League message board...

American Hockey League Stories from April 18, 2013

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.