Sports stats

 Flint Firebirds

2024 OHL U18 Priority Selection Set for Wednesday Night

April 17, 2024 - Ontario Hockey League (OHL)
Flint Firebirds News Release

The 8th annual OHL Under-18 Priority Selection is set to commence at 7:00pm on Wednesday, April 17th where no fewer than 40 players born in 2006 and 2007 will be chosen from Under-18 AAA programs from across the province.

The Under-18 Priority Selection will be held entirely online, and streaming for free on OHL Live. Follow along with pick-by-pick results here at

Here's everything you need to know about the OHL Under-18 Priority Selection:


The concept for the OHL Under-18 Priority Selection was developed in 2017 with full support from Hockey Canada's three Ontario Branches including the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF), Hockey Eastern Ontario (HEO), and Hockey Northwestern Ontario (HNO), to assist in the growth of U18 AAA hockey and provide further opportunities for players at different stages of their hockey development.

Past and Present OHL U18 Draft Picks to play in the OHL:

Victor Hadfield (Barrie Colts, 1st overall 2017), Emmett Serensits (Sudbury Wolves, 7th overall, 2017), Marko Jakovljevic (Sarnia Sting, 28th overall 2017), Kaleb Pearson (Owen Sound Attack, 29th overall 2017).

Mitchell Weeks (Sudbury Wolves, 1st overall 2018), Dustin Hutton (Kingston Frontenacs, 3rd overall 2018), Daniel D'Amato (Erie Otters, 4th overall 2018), Griffin Wilson (Owen Sound Attack, 15th overall 2018), Dakota Betts (Niagara IceDogs, 17th overall 2018)

Ryan Thompson (North Bay Battalion, 8th overall 2019), Nick DeGrazia (Sudbury Wolves, 14th overall 2019), Matt Tovell (Windsor Spitfires, 25th overall 2019), Logan LeSage (Owen Sound Attack, 29th overall 2019), Gavin White (Hamilton Bulldogs, 47th overall 2019)

Anson Thornton (Sarnia Sting, 3rd overall 2020), Samuel Ivanov (Soo Greyhounds, 4th overall 2020), Paul Hughes (Kingston Frontenacs, 5th overall 2020), Andrew Whitton (Oshawa Generals, 13th overall 2020), Samuel Mayer (Peterborough Petes, 15th overall 2020), Marshall Nicholls (Erie Otters, 28th overall 2020), Ian Phillips (Saginaw Spirit, 54th overall 2020)

Abakar Kazbekov (London Knights, 1st overall 2021), Calem Mangone (Saginaw Spirit, 2nd overall 2021), Carter Bickle (Oshawa Generals, 18th overall 2021), Jaden Reyers (Peterborough Petes, 28th overall 2021), Nicholas Surzycia (32nd overall, Sarnia Sting 2021), Ian Michelone (Flint Firebirds, 36th overall 2021), Charlie Fink (Saginaw Spirit, 39th overall 2021), Jacob Julien (41st overall, London Knights 2021), Michael MacLean (Flint Firebirds, 43rd overall 2021), Owen MacDonald (46th overall, Sarnia Sting 2021)

Lincoln Moore (Saginaw Spirit, 1st overall 2022), Nate Krawchuk (Sudbury Wolves, 3rd overall 2022), Brennan Faulkner (Peterborough Petes, 6th overall 2022), Will Haley (Mississauga Steelheads, 13th overall 2022), Dustin Good (Soo Greyhounds, 15th overall 2022), Nolan Ling (Kingston Frontenacs, 16th overall 2022), Matthew Jenken (Flint Firebirds, 17th overall 2022), Bruce McDonald (Erie Otters, 41st overall, Erie Otters 2022), Alec Stewart (Windsor Spitfires, 51st overall 2022)

Brett Hammond (Erie Otters, 1st overall 2023), Daniel Chen (Brantford Bulldogs, 7th overall 2023), Sam Ethier (Owen Sound Attack, 10th overall 2023), Evan Hjelholt (Windsor Spitfires, 18th overall 2023)

Players Eligible for Selection:

All U18 players not currently on a CHL Member Team Protected List who were carded with an Ontario-based U18 AAA Hockey Club or an accredited Hockey Canada sport school within the OHF, HNO or HEO in the 2023-24 playing season are eligible for the U18 Priority Selection.

Selection Procedure:

The Under-18 Priority Selection Process is capped at two rounds with each OHL Member Team required to select two players.

The OHL's four non-playoff teams, the Niagara IceDogs, Windsor Spitfires, Peterborough Petes and Sarnia Sting, participated in a Priority Selection Lottery on March 27 to determine the order of selection for picks 1-through-4. The remaining order of selection is determined by inverse order of finish in the OHL regular season standings.

The Windsor Spitfires will select first overall in 2024, followed by the Sarnia Sting, Peterborough Petes and Niagara IceDogs.

Goaltender Policy:

Should a Member Team select a goalie with one of their two selections, the Club has the option to select another player (skater only). There will be an additional round added to the Under-18 Priority Selection to facilitate the drafting of the additional skater utilizing the same selection order and process.

General Rules of Selection:

OHL Member Teams may utilize a maximum of five minutes to select a player through the duration of the Under-18 Priority Selection.

Each OHL Member Team will have the opportunity for one two minute timeout during the Under-18 Priority Selection.

• Discuss this story on the Ontario Hockey League message board...

Ontario Hockey League Stories from April 17, 2024

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central