NFL, MLB, CFL stats

WPS Releases Protected List for 2010 Expansion Draft

October 20, 2010 - Women's Professional Soccer (WPS) - Boston Breakers News Release

SAN FRANCISCO, CA (October 20, 2010) - Women's Professional Soccer announced Wednesday the players available from its seven current teams for the 2010 WPS Expansion Draft scheduled for November 4. The Western New York franchise - the eighth team for the 2011 WPS Season - will begin stocking its roster during the 2010 Expansion Draft, in which it can draft players from the unprotected list. Free agents and protected players may not be selected in the Expansion Draft. Further details and the official start of the WPS free agency period, which follows the expansion draft, will be formally announced next week.

Western New York will have the opportunity to select up to nine players from the expansion draft process. After an existing WPS team loses a first player to a pick, they may add one other player to their protected list. If a team loses a second player in the expansion draft, all other players from that team are protected. No existing WPS team can lose more than two players to selections in the expansion draft process.

Fans and media can follow along with the expansion draft on the league's twitter account on November 4 starting at 4pm ET/1pm PT at As with past expansion teams, the Western New York franchise will also have the opportunity to assemble its rosters through international signings (up to five players), free agency, local tryouts and the 2011 WPS Draft scheduled for January.

Unprotected Players (alphabetical by team)
Kaley Fountain (Atlanta Beat)
Angie Kerr (Atlanta Beat)
Johanna Rasmussen (Atlanta Beat)
Liz Bogus (Boston Breakers)
Cynthia Morote-Ariza (Boston Breakers)
Ashley Phillips (Boston Breakers)
Ji So-Yun (Boston Breakers - hold WPS rights)
Kelsey Davis (Chicago Red Stars)
Jessica McDonald (Chicago Red Stars)
Julianne Sitch (Chicago Red Stars)
Brittany Cameron (FC Gold Pride)
Rosie Tantillo (FC Gold Pride)
Kim Yokers (FC Gold Pride)
Heather Mitts (Philadelphia Independence)
Lyndsey Patterson (Philadelphia Independence)
Sarah Senty (Philadelphia Independence)
Shannon Myers (Sky Blue FC)
Angela Salem (Sky Blue FC)
India Trotter (Sky Blue FC)
Jill Gilbeau (Washington Freedom)
Beverly Goebel (Washington Freedom)
Christie Welsh (Washington Freedom)

Protected Players (alphabetical by team)
Eniola Aluko (Atlanta Beat)
Lori Chalupny (Atlanta Beat)
Tina Ellertson (Atlanta Beat)
Tobin Heath (Atlanta Beat)
Lauren Sesselmann (Atlanta Beat)
Jordan Angeli (Boston Breakers)
Lauren Cheney (Boston Breakers)
Ifeoma Dieke (Boston Breakers)
Taryn Hemmings (Boston Breakers)
Amy LePeilbet (Boston Breakers)
Kristine Lilly (Boston Breakers)
Alyssa Naeher (Boston Breakers)
Leslie Osborne (Boston Breakers)
Alex Scott (Boston Breakers)
Kelly Smith (Boston Breakers)
Veronica Boquete (Chicago Red Stars)
Karen Carney (Chicago Red Stars)
Marian Dalmy (Chicago Red Stars)
Whitney Engen (Chicago Red Stars)
Karina LeBlanc (Chicago Red Stars)
Jillian Loyden (Chicago Red Stars)
Ella Masar (Chicago Red Stars)
Casey Nogueira (Chicago Red Stars)
Megan Rapinoe (Chicago Red Stars)
Natalie Spilger (Chicago Red Stars)
Kiki Bosio (FC Gold Pride)
Carrie Dew (FC Gold Pride)
Becky Edwards (FC Gold Pride)
Kristen Graczyk (FC Gold Pride)
Marta (FC Gold Pride)
Tiffeny Milbrett (FC Gold Pride)
Ali Riley (FC Gold Pride)
Kandace Wilson (FC Gold Pride)
Danesha Adams (Philadelphia Independence)
Jennifer Buczkowski (Philadelphia Independence)
Allison Falk (Philadelphia Independence)
Val Henderson (Philadelphia Independence)
Nikki Krzysik (Philadelphia Independence)
Lori Lindsey (Philadelphia Independence)
Joanna Lohman (Philadelphia Independence)
Holmfridur Magnusdottir (Philadelphia Independence)
Amy Rodriguez (Philadelphia Independence)
Caroline Seger (Philadelphia Independence)
Karen Bardsley (Sky Blue FC)
Jenni Branam (Sky Blue FC)
Kiersten Dallstream (Sky Blue FC)
Kendall Fletcher (Sky Blue FC)
Danielle Johnson (Sky Blue FC)
Laura Kalmari (Sky Blue FC)
Heather O'Reilly (Sky Blue FC)
Brittany Taylor (Sky Blue FC)
Kristi Eveland (Washington Freedom)
Nikki Marshall (Washington Freedom)
Erin McLeod (Washington Freedom)
Becky Sauerbrunn (Washington Freedom)
Abby Wambach (Washington Freedom)

WPS Free Agents (alphabetical)^
Marisa Abegg
Camille Abily
Anita Asante
Yael Averbuch
Ramona Bachmann
Nicole Barnhart
Stacy Bishop
Carolyn Blank
Brittany Bock
Sonia Bompastor
Shannon Boxx
Rachel Buehler
Meghann Burke
Candace Chapman
Katie Chapman
Stephanie Cox
Niki Cross
Laura Del Rio
Lisa DeVanna
Gina DiMartino
Tina DiMartino
Keeley Dowling
Jen Grubb
Solveig Gulbrandsen
Erin Guthrie
Ashlyn Harris
Kelly Henderson
Sarah Huffman
Chioma Igwe
Estelle Johnson
Robyn Jones
Natasha Kai
Brittany Klein
Daphne Koster
Sara Larsson
Allison Lipsher
Carli Lloyd
Mallori Lofton-Malachi
Allie Long
Manya Makoski
Brett Maron
Analisa Marquez
Meagan McCray
Kia McNeill
Caitlin Miskel
Kasey Moore
Rebecca Moros
Lene Mykjåland
Rebecca Nolin
Monica Ocampo
Kelley O'Hara
Patrizia Panico
Kelly Parker
Christie Rampone
Sophie Reiser
Katherine Reynolds
Leigh Ann Robinson
Lianne Sanderson
Homare Sawa
Meghan Schnur
Christine Sinclair
Hope Solo
Lindsay Tarpley
Lydia Vandenbergh
Sarah Walsh
Nikki Washington
Elise Weber
Kacey White
Cat Whitehill
Allison Whitworth
Mami Yamaguchi
McCall Zerboni

^ NOTE: Players listed are free agents within WPS who played in the league during the 2010 season; players listed may have signed with international clubs.

• Discuss this story on the Women's Professional Soccer message board...

Women's Professional Soccer Stories from October 20, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Boston Breakers Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central