NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Twins Announce 2021 Harmon Killebrew Award Winners

November 1, 2021 - Double-A Central League (AA Central) - Wichita Wind Surge News Release

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL, MN – The Minnesota Twins today announced the 2021 Harmon Killebrew Award winners for outstanding minor league community service. Following the Hall of Famer's death in 2011, the Twins have annually recognized a player from each of the organization's full-season affiliates. Each player is nominated by their respective general manager for their service within the affiliate's community. A plaque is awarded, in addition to an on-field presentation during spring training. Though opportunities for community involvement were limited in 2021 due to COVID restrictions, this year's winners made the best of the circumstances to make an impact in their respective cities.

Infielder Sherman Johnson has been named the winner of the award representing Triple-A St. Paul. Johnson is passionate about reading and promoting literacy, and was active in the Saints' Reading Tree program this past season. The program took place on the outfield grass prior to Sunday home games and featured a Saints player and a local author/illustrator reading books to kids. Johnson, 31, signed a minor league contract with the Twins on May 12 and began the season at Double-A Wichita, before being transferred to St. Paul on June 1. He batted a combined .202 (45-for-223) with 10 doubles, two triples, five home runs, 33 RBI, 36 runs scored and 46 walks in 75 games for the Saints and Wind Surge.

Right-handed pitcher Hector Lujan has been named the winner of the award representing Double-A Wichita, his third time earning the honor (2014 - Cedar Rapids and 2019 - Pensacola). The 27-year-old was recognized by the Wind Surge front office as the first player to reach out about community engagement opportunities, despite the limits imposed by the pandemic. Lujan was also quick to engage and interact with fans by signing autographs, and was always willing to assist the front office whenever needed. He went 3-2 with a 3.62 ERA (32.1 IP, 13 ER), nine walks and 33 strikeouts in 18 games for the Wind Surge, missing time due to injury.

Catcher Alex Isola has been named the winner of the award representing Single-A Cedar Rapids. Isola volunteered with the local Meals on Wheels chapter during the 2021 season, delivering meals to those in need in his free time and encouraging his teammates to do the same. The 23-year-old also spent significant time signing autographs for fans whenever possible, using the bullpen area as his base. Isola spent the entire 2021 season with the Kernels, his first full professional campaign, hitting .243 (88-for-362) with 15 doubles, 17 home runs, 52 RBI, 47 runs scored and 53 walks in 98 games.

Catcher Jeferson Morales has been named the winner of the award representing Single-A Fort Myers. Morales was recognized by the Mighty Mussels front office as a player who went above and beyond regarding fan interaction during the season, noting his constant willingness to interact with fans and sign autographs whenever he could. The 22-year-old split the 2021 minor league season between Fort Myers and Cedar Rapids, batting a combined .255 (84-for-329) with 24 doubles, 12 home runs, 53 RBI, 12 stolen bases and 54 runs scored in 96 games.


2011 Rochester -- Kyle Gibson | New Britain -- Bobby Lanigan | Fort Myers -- Reggie Williams | Beloit -- Ryan O'Rourke

2012 Rochester -- JR Towles | New Britain -- Shawn Roof | Fort Myers -- Andy Leer | Beloit -- Corey Williams

2013 Rochester -- Brian Dinkelman | New Britain -- Dan Rohlfing | Fort Myers -- Stephen Wickens | Cedar Rapids -- Niko Goodrum

2014 Rochester -- Logan Darnell | New Britain -- Tony Thomas | Fort Myers -- Tim Shibuya | Cedar Rapids -- Tanner Vavra

2015 Rochester -- Logan Darnell | New Britain -- Tim Shibuya | Fort Myers -- Tanner Vavra | Cedar Rapids -- Jared Wilson

2016 Rochester -- Logan Darnell | Chattanooga -- David Hurlbut | Fort Myers -- Trey Vavra | Cedar Rapids -- Nelson Molina

2017 Rochester -- DJ Baxendale | Chattanooga -- Travis Harrison | Fort Myers -- Kevin Garcia | Cedar Rapids -- Hector Lujan

2018 Rochester -- Jake Reed | Chattanooga -- Chris Paul | Fort Myers -- Tyler Wells | Cedar Rapids -- David Bañuelo

• Discuss this story on the Double-A Central League message board...

Double-A Central League Stories from November 1, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Wichita Wind Surge Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central