Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
Looking for sports stats?

Texas Minor League Teams Post Best Composite Record in 2011

September 6, 2011 - Carolina League (CarL) - Myrtle Beach Pelicans News Release

Arlington, Texas - The Texas Rangers farm teams have completed one of the most successful campaigns in club history, boasting minor league baseball's best composite record in 2011. The seven Rangers affiliates combined to go 431-332, good for a .565 winning percentage that is the third-highest in team history and best since 1974. While the Arizona League Rangers have completed their season, the Rangers' top four minor league affiliates begin postseason play tomorrow night.

The minor league system's winning percentage ranks as the third-highest in club history behind only 1973 (.584, 271-193) and 1974 (.566, 263-202), years in which Texas had just four farm teams.

The Rangers have qualified five teams to postseason play for the third time in the last four seasons. Pacific Coast League Manager of the Year Bobby Jones led the Round Rock Express to the second-best overall record in the league and will open a best-of-five series with Omaha on Tuesday at the Dell Diamond. Steve Buechele has led Frisco into the post-season in each of his two seasons at the helm, as the RoughRiders start a best-of-five series on Tuesday at San Antonio. Jason Wood has guided Myrtle Beach to a postseason berth in his managerial debut, with his club hosting Kinston to start a best-of-five series on Tuesday. Bill Richardson has led Hickory to its second straight postseason appearance, as the Crawdads travel to Greensboro to start a best-of-five series on Tuesday. The Surprise Rangers fell in the Arizona League semifinals last month.

Several farmhands won individual accolades this season, including 18-year-old SS Jurickson Profar earning South Atlantic League Most Valuable Player. Profar was joined by 3B Christian Villanueva and 2B Odubel Herrera among the league's postseason All-Stars. Myrtle Beach LHP Robbie Ross captured Carolina League Pitcher of the Year honors and was joined by 3B Mike Olt and, OF Ryan Strauborger, and OF Jared Prince on that circuit's postseason All-Star squad. Frisco 3B Tommy Mendonca claimed the DH spot on the Texas League Postseason All-Star Team and OF Joey Butler represented Round Rock on the Pacific Coast League Postseason All-Star Team. C Kevin Torres earned a spot on the Arizona League All-Star Team.

• Discuss this story on the Carolina League message board...

Carolina League Stories from September 6, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.