Looking for stats?

Reign Announce 2013-14 Protected List

June 3, 2013 - ECHL (ECHL) - Ontario Reign News Release

ONTARIO, Calif. - The Ontario Reign, back-to-back Pacific Division Champions and proud affiliate of the NHL's Los Angeles Kings and Winnipeg Jets, announced their protected players list for the 2013-14 season. The Reign have placed 26 players on the team's "Protected List."

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players' Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2012-13 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2012-13, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2012-13 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2012-13.

The following players have been protected by the Reign for the 2013-14 season:

Goalie: Michael Condon (G)


C.J. Stretch (C)

Everett Sheen (LW)

Brodie Sheahan (F)

Brady Calla (F)

Kyle Kraemer (F)

Mario Lamoureux (F)

Jake Hauswirth (F)

Jason Beeman (RW)

Chris Cloud (LW)

Colton Yellow Horn (LW)

Dan DaSilva (RW)

D.J. King (LW)

Kevin Estrada (LW)

Derek Couture (RW)


Jordan Hill (D)

Paul Mara (D)

Adrian Van de Mosselaer (D)

Matt Clune (D)

Nick Ebert (D)

Eric Springer

Cameron Burt (D)

Vincent LoVerde (D)

Chris Huxley (D)

David Walker (D)

Brock Sheahan (D)

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from June 3, 2013

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Ontario Reign Stories