NFL, NBA, NHL stats

New York Red Bulls' Aaron Long Named MLS Defender of the Year

November 7, 2018 - Major League Soccer (MLS) News Release

NEW YORK - Major League Soccer announced today that the New York Red Bulls' Aaron Long has been named the 2018 MLS Defender of the Year. The 26-year-old center back becomes the first player among New York-based MLS teams to win this award.

Long enjoyed a breakout year during the Red Bulls' run to a third Supporters' Shield and an MLS single-season points record (71). He played in all 34 regular season games while posting three goals and two assists in 2,806 minutes - all career highs. He led a defensive line that was the best in MLS, allowing only 33 goals in 34 games to represent the lone MLS club to concede less than one goal per game. Long additionally played in his first MLS All-Star Game presented by Target, earning the start during MLS's highly touted match against Italian powerhouse Juventus.

Video soundbytes from Aaron Long are available HERE Long anchored the Red Bulls' back line that advanced to the semifinals of the 2018 Concacaf Champions League, helping earn notable results against Liga MX competition. Long and the Red Bulls posted a memorable 2-0 road victory at Club Tijuana in the quarterfinals and a home shutout draw against Chivas de Guadalajara in the semifinals.

Long's rise coincided with a heavy presence with the U.S. Men's National Team, earning his first call-up in September, prior to the USA's match against Brazil in East Rutherford, N.J. Long made his U.S. MNT debut on Oct. 16, playing the full match during a draw against Peru. He has been called in once again for the USA's November international matches against England and Italy.

Defender of the Year Player Vote % Club Vote % Media Vote % Average %

Aaron Long (RBNY) 20.76% 25.47% 33.33% 26.52%

Chad Marshall (SEA) 11.70% 27.36% 23.72% 20.93%

Michael Parkhurst (ATL) 11.70% 6.60% 3.00% 7.10%

Leandro Gonzalez Pirez (ATL) 5.85% 8.49% 3.00% 5.78%

Kemar Lawrence (RBNY) 5.85% 2.83% 8.11% 5.60%

MLS Defender of the Year Winners:

2018: Aaron Long - New York Red Bulls

2017: Ike Opara - Sporting Kansas City

2016: Matt Hedges - FC Dallas

2015: Laurent Ciman - Montreal Impact

2014: Chad Marshall - Seattle Sounders FC

2013: Jose Goncalves - New England Revolution

2012: Matt Besler - Sporting Kansas City

2011: Omar Gonzalez - LA Galaxy

2010: Jamison Olave - Real Salt Lake

2009: Chad Marshall - Columbus Crew SC

2008: Chad Marshall - Columbus Crew SC

2007: Michael Parkhurst - New England Revolution

2006: Bobby Boswell - D.C. United

2005: Jimmy Conrad - Kansas City Wizards

2004: Robin Fraser - Columbus Crew SC

2003: Carlos Bocanegra - Chicago Fire

2002: Carlos Bocanegra - Chicago Fire

2001: Jeff Agoos - San Jose Earthquakes

2000: Peter Vermes - Kansas City Wizards

1999: Robin Fraser - LA Galaxy

1998: Lubos Kubik - Chicago Fire

1997: Eddie Pope - D.C. United

1996: John Doyle - San Jose Earthquakes

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 7, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew