NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Columbus Crew SC Forward Gyasi Zardes Named MLS Comeback Player of the Year

November 7, 2018 - Major League Soccer (MLS) News Release

NEW YORK - Major League Soccer announced today that after his breakout regular season, Columbus Crew SC forward Gyasi Zardes has been named the 2018 MLS Comeback Player of the Year.

The 27-year-old Hawthorne, Calif. native was traded to Crew SC in the offseason before posting his strongest campaign yet, including a career-high 19 goals. He capped off the regular season with his first career hat trick on MLS Decision Day presented by AT&T to carry momentum into the Audi MLS Cup Playoffs.

Video soundbytes from Gyasi Zardes are available HERE Under the guidance of Columbus sporting director and head coach Gregg Berhalter, Zardes has thrived all season within the club's lone-striker formation. Zardes also eclipsed the regular season 50-goal career milestone (53), and in the process rewarded Columbus with the third-highest, single-season goalscoring output in club history. He set personal bests in minutes (2,948) and games played/started (33).

The turnaround season came just one year after posting two goals with the LA Galaxy in 2017 - a year in which he also had multiple injuries in club and international play.

Zardes' elevated MLS play led to a well-deserved return to the U.S. Men's National Team camp in September - his first camp since January.

The award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

Comeback Player of the Year Player Vote % Club Vote % Media Vote % Average %

Gyasi Zardes (CLB) 24.85% 30.69% 52.73% 36.09%

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (LA) 31.87% 30.69% 16.67% 26.41%

Osvaldo Alonso (SEA) 5.26% 6.93% 10.30% 7.50%

Djordje Mihailovic (CHI) 7.89% 8.91% 4.55% 7.12%

Jonathan Osorio (TOR) 7.02% 5.94% 7.58% 6.85%

MLS Comeback Player of the Year Winners:

2018: Gyasi Zardes - Columbus Crew SC

2017: Clint Dempsey - Seattle Sounders FC

2016: Chris Pontius - Philadelphia Union

2015: Tim Melia - Sporting Kansas City

2014: Rodney Wallace - Portland Timbers

2013: Kevin Alston - New England Revolution

2012: Eddie Johnson - Seattle Sounders FC

2011: David Beckham - LA Galaxy

2010: Bobby Convey - San Jose Earthquakes

2009: Zach Thornton - Chivas USA

2008: Kenny Cooper - FC Dallas

2007: Eddie Johnson - Kansas City Wizards

2006: Richard Mulrooney - FC Dallas

2005: Chris Klein - Kansas City Wizards

2004: Brian Ching - San Jose Earthquakes

2003: Chris Armas - Chicago Fire

2002: Chris Klein - Kansas City Wizards

2001: Troy Dayak - San Jose Earthquakes

2000: Tony Meola - Kansas City Wizards

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 7, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew