NFL, MLB, CFL stats

National Soccer Hall of Fame Announces Final Ballots for Election to 2022 Class

November 16, 2021 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - FC Dallas News Release

FRISCO, Texas - The National Soccer Hall of Fame at Toyota Stadium today released the names of the finalists for election to the Class of 2022, including 20 on the Player ballot, 10 on the Veteran ballot and four on the Builder ballot.

The finalists were announced during CBS Sports' post-match coverage of the U.S. Men's national team's 1-1 draw against Jamaica in a World Cup qualifying match on Paramount+.

The Hall of Fame Selection Committees will meet over the next several weeks and then vote to select a maximum of six new members; as many as three Players and two Veterans can be selected, along with one Builder.

The 2022 Hall of Fame ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, May 21; it will be followed by a concert at Toyota Stadium featuring Zac Brown Band, presented by WinStar World Casino and Resort.

Player Ballot Finalists

David Beckham

Shannon Boxx

Lori Chalupny

Brian Ching

Clint Dempsey

Maurice Edu

Thierry Henry

Lauren Cheney Holiday

Eddie Johnson

Shalrie Joseph

Robbie Keane

Pablo Mastroeni

Josh McKinney

Heather Mitts

Oguchi Onyewu

Carlos Ruiz

Hope Solo

Aly Wagner

Cat Reddick Whitehill

Josh Wolff

Two candidates - Clint Dempsey and Robbie Keane - were selected to the Final ballot in their first year of eligibility. In all, 15 of the 20 Player finalists return from 2021. Brian Ching, Eddie Johnson and Carlos Ruiz were selected as finalists after not being chosen last year.

Heather Mitts, Aly Wagner and Josh Wolff are in their final year of eligibility in the Player category; if they are not elected, they will appear on the Veteran ballot next year. Additionally, Jeff Cunningham did not advance to the Final ballot and will appear on the Veteran ballot next year.

Jon Busch did not receive any votes and will be removed from the Player Eligibility List via the sunset rule. He will regain eligibility on the Veteran list after 10 full years of retirement.

Veteran Ballot Finalists

Chris Armas

Chico Borja

Marco Etcheverry

Linda Hamilton

Mary Harvey

Frankie Hejduk

Clint Mathis

Tony Sanneh

Kate Sobrero Markgraf

Tisha Venturini-Hoch

Builder Ballot Finalists

Esse Baharmast

Brian Hall

Sandra Hunt

Kari Seitz

Builders are listed in three categories: referees, coaches, and owners and administrators. Based on the rotation established in 2020, only referees are being considered for the 2022 Builder Final Ballot.

The two Players, one Veteran and one Builder who receive the most votes and are named on more than 50% of the ballots are automatically elected to the Hall of Fame. Procedural changes announced earlier this year also allow for a third Player and a second Veteran to be elected if they are named to at least 75% of the ballots.

Complete information about election and eligibility procedures is available at The election process is administered by National Soccer Hall of Fame staff under election and eligibility guidelines established by the Hall of Fame Board of Directors.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 16, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central