Checkers Announce 2018-19 Promotions Schedule

August 27, 2018 - American Hockey League (AHL) - Charlotte Checkers News Release

The Charlotte Checkers today announced that they have released their promotions schedule for the 2018-19 season. The full slate of special events can be found on the Checkers' website.

Highlighting new events are a Harry Potter Night on Friday, Feb. 1, and the 39th anniversary of the U.S. Olympic team's "Miracle on Ice" game on Friday, Feb. 22, that will see the Checkers wear specialty USA themed jerseys that will be available for auction immediately following the game. Also new this season are a Carnival Night on Friday, Nov. 2, and a Mental Health Awareness Night on Friday, March 1.

The season will also see the return of several popular promotions beginning with My First Checkers Game on Saturday, Oct. 20, that will feature $5 tickets for all kids and a free jersey for the first 1,500 kids to arrive at Bojangles' Coliseum. Following that will be the annual 1950s Night featuring throwback pricing on tickets and concessions starting at $1 on Tuesday, Jan. 15, NASCAR Night on Saturday, Jan. 19, Chubby's Birthday on Sunday, March 24, and the second annual Pet Weekend consisting of Caturday on Saturday, April 6, and the Pooch Party on Sunday, April 7.

In addition to the team's first Mental Health Awareness Night, the Checkers will also support charitable causes through a Hockey Fights Cancer game on Saturday, Nov. 24, an Ovarian Cancer Awareness game on Saturday, Jan. 12, Pink in the Rink on Saturday, Feb. 2, and Domestic Violence Awareness Night on Saturday, March 23. The team will also hold several drives to support nonprofits throughout the season in which fans can receive free tickets to future games, including a toy drive and a board game drive to benefit Novant Health and a school supply drive for Classroom Central.

Also returning this season are several recurring promotions including $1 beer for all five Wednesday games, six Family Nights offering discounts of 40 percent on groups of four tickets and six college nights featuring $15 best available tickets. The team will also hold three postgame skates with Checkers players presented by Novant Health. In addition, a new discount for military members presented by Verizon will be available on tickets and merchandise throughout the season.

Individual tickets for all games except Opening Night on Friday, Oct. 19, at 7 p.m., which is on sale now through Ticketmaster, will go on sale Wednesday, Sept. 12, at 10 a.m. Mini plans, flex packs and group outings for all games can be purchased now by contacting the Checkers at (704) 342-4423 or tickets@gocheckers.com.

• Discuss this story on the American Hockey League message board...

American Hockey League Stories from August 27, 2018


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Charlotte Checkers Stories



Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew