NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Bruce Arena Voted 2021 Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year

November 29, 2021 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - New England Revolution News Release

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - New England Revolution Sporting Director and Head Coach Bruce Arena has been voted the 2021 Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year. Arena earns his fourth MLS Coach of the Year honor, the most in league history, after guiding New England to its first Supporters' Shield title and an MLS-record 73 points in the regular season.

Arena will be available to media today, Monday, Nov. 29 at 12:00 p.m. ET to preview Tuesday's playoff match. He will be preceded by Revolution midfielder Carles Gil and forward Adam Buksa beginning at 11:30 a.m. ET. CLICK HERE to participate in today's virtual press conference.

Arena, a five-time MLS Cup champion and the winningest head coach in MLS postseason history, will lead the Revolution into the Audi 2021 MLS Cup Playoffs with an Eastern Conference Semifinal tilt against New York City FC on Tuesday, Nov. 30 at 7:30 p.m. ET at Gillette Stadium (FS1, FOX Deportes, WBOS 92.9 FM, SiriusXM FC, 1260 AM Nossa Radio).

Arena won his record fourth Supporters' Shield title this season with his third 20-win season in MLS, earning homefield advantage throughout the playoffs and a Round One bye. The Revolution's 22 wins this season, which tied the most non-shootout victories in a season, saw Arena move into a tie with the late Sigi Schmid for the most regular season wins in league history with 240. Under Arena's guidance, the Revolution set a new league record with 2.15 points per game while matching the highest winning percentage in MLS history at .750.

Arena joins Bob Bradley as the second individual to win the MLS Coach of the Year award with three different clubs, having previously won the honor with D.C. United in 1997 and twice with the Los Angeles Galaxy in 2009 and 2011. Arena is the second Revolution coach to be named Coach of the Year after Steve Nicol in 2002. Seeking his sixth MLS Cup victory, Arena is three wins away from becoming the first MLS coach - and the second coach across the five major North American men's professional leagues - to win a championship with three different teams (Scotty Bowman - NHL).

Arena becomes the third member of the Revolution to collect 2021 MLS year-end honors for his individual achievements. On Nov. 22, Matt Turner was announced as the 2021 Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year, while Carles Gil was recognized as the 2021 MLS Comeback Player of the Year on Nov. 24. Gil remains a finalist for the Landon Donovan MLS MVP Award, due to be announced in early December.

Below is a breakdown of the voting results:


Arena, Bruce (NE) 54.20% 57.60% 62.10% 57.97%

Fraser, Robin (COL) 10.90% 30.30% 21.20% 20.80%

Schmetzer, Brian (SEA) 2.60% 3.00% 6.40% 4.00%

Smith, Gary (NSH) 3.60% 3.00% 3.00% 3.20%

Nancy, Wilfried (MTL) 2.10% 3.00% 1.50% 2.20%


Led the Revolution to a league-record 73 points and the club's first-ever Supporters' Shield title.

Recorded 22 wins, tied for the most non-shootout wins in a season, to tie Sigi Schmid for the most regular season victories in MLS history (240).

Earned fourth Supporters' Shield title and fourth MLS Coach of the Year honor, both MLS highs.

Compiled a 22-5-7 record, setting a new MLS mark with 2.15 points per game and tying the league's best-ever winning percentage (.750)

Directed the Revolution to a 12-2-3 record at home, equaling the club's best-ever mark in Foxborough, and a league-high 10 wins on the road

Guided New England to new club records for goals (65), assists (70), and goal differential (+24), leading the league in all three categories

Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year Award Recipients

Year Player Club

1996 Thomas Rongen Tampa Bay Mutiny

1997 Bruce Arena D.C. United

1998 Bob Bradley Chicago Fire

1999 Sigi Schmid Los Angeles Galaxy

2000 Bob Gansler Kansas City Wizards

2001 Frank Yallop San Jose Earthquakes

2002 Steve Nicol New England Revolution

2003 Dave Sarachan Chicago Fire

2004 Greg Andrulis Columbus Crew

2005 Dominic Kinnear San Jose Earthquakes

2006 Bob Bradley Chivas USA

2007 Preki Chivas USA

2008 Sigi Schmid Columbus Crew

2009 Bruce Arena Los Angeles Galaxy

2010 Schellas Hyndman FC Dallas

2011 Bruce Arena Los Angeles Galaxy

2012 Frank Yallop San Jose Earthquakes

2013 Caleb Porter Portland Timbers

2014 Ben Olsen D.C. United

2015 Jesse Marsch New York Red Bulls

2016 Oscar Pareja FC Dallas

2017 Greg Vanney Toronto FC

2018 Gerardo Martino Atlanta United

2019 Bob Bradley Los Angeles FC

2020 Jim Curtin Philadelphia Union

2021 Bruce Arena New England Revolution

Pay-as-We-Play playoff ticket packages and single-game tickets for the Audi 2021 MLS Cup Playoffs are on sale now. The Revolution's Pay-as-We-Play playoff packages offer savings up to 27 percent off box office prices and include seats for the MLS Cup final, should New England advance to the championship match. Visit, call 1-877-GET-REVS, or email

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 29, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central