NFL, MLB, CFL stats

 Major League Soccer

New England Revolution's Bruce Arena Named 2021 MLS Sigi Schmid Coach of the Year

November 29, 2021 - Major League Soccer (MLS) News Release

NEW YORK - Major League Soccer today announced New England Revolution head coach Bruce Arena as the 2021 MLS Sigi Schmid Coach of the Year. The coaching icon led the Revolution to a record-breaking campaign that surpassed the single season points record and won Supporters' Shield to secure the top seed in the Audi MLS Cup Playoffs, with homefield advantage and a Round One bye.

Arena makes history, earning MLS Coach of the Year for a record fourth time in his MLS coaching career to become only the second individual in league history to win the award with three different MLS clubs (New England Revolution, 2021; LA Galaxy, 2011, 2009; D.C. United, 1997).

Coming off a record-breaking campaign, Arena's Revs posted 73 points - the most during a single season - to overtake the previous record high 72 points set by the Los Angeles Football Club in 2019. Arena fittingly tied the late Sigi Schmid's record 240 regular season victories and became the first head coach to win four Supporters' Shields in league history. In addition, he became the second head coach since Schmid himself to win the Shield with three different clubs.

Arena's next test will come in Audi 2021 MLS Cup Playoffs, when the top-seeded New England Revolution welcome New York City FC to Gillette Stadium on Tuesday, Nov. 30 (7:30 p.m. ET, FS1/ FOX Deportes).

Seeking his sixth MLS Cup victory, Arena is three wins away from becoming the first coach in MLS history to win MLS Cup with three different teams, which would make him just the second coach in the five major North American men's professional sports leagues to win a championship with three different teams after Scotty Bowman accomplished the feat in the National Hockey League.

Arena received 57.97% of the overall vote by MLS club technical staff, media, and current MLS players. Leading the Colorado Rapids to the top spot of the Western Conference, Robin Fraser was second with 20.80% of the total vote.

Below is a breakdown of the voting results.

Voting Results


Arena, Bruce (NE) 54.20% 57.60% 62.10% 57.97%

Fraser, Robin (COL) 10.90% 30.30% 21.20% 20.80%

Schmetzer, Brian (SEA) 2.60% 3.00% 6.40% 4.00%

Smith, Gary (NSH) 3.60% 3.00% 3.00% 3.20%

Nancy, Wilfried (MTL) 2.10% 3.00% 1.50% 2.20%

MLS Coach of the Year Winners

2021: Bruce Arena - New England Revolution

2020: Jim Curtin - Philadelphia Union

2019: Bob Bradley - Los Angeles Football Club

2018: Gerardo "Tata" Martino - Atlanta United

2017: Greg Vanney - Toronto FC

2016: Oscar Pareja - FC Dallas

2015: Jesse Marsch - New York Red Bulls

2014: Ben Olsen - D.C. United

2013: Caleb Porter - Portland Timbers

2012: Frank Yallop - San Jose Earthquakes

2011: Bruce Arena - LA Galaxy

2010: Schellas Hyndman - FC Dallas

2009: Bruce Arena - LA Galaxy

2008: Sigi Schmid - Columbus Crew SC

2007: Preki - Chivas USA

2006: Bob Bradley - Chivas USA

2005: Dominic Kinnear - San Jose Earthquakes

2004: Greg Andrulis - Columbus Crew SC

2003: Dave Sarachan - Chicago Fire

2002: Steve Nicol - New England Revolution

2001: Frank Yallop - San Jose Earthquakes

2000: Bob Gansler - Kansas City Wizards

1999: Sigi Schmid - LA Galaxy

1998: Bob Bradley - Chicago Fire

1997: Bruce Arena - D.C. United

1996: Thomas Rongen - Tampa Bay Mutiny

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 29, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central