December 21, 2014
19
Games Today




Rapids To Regionally Broadcast 2010 Games On KWGN/Channel 2 In High Definition

March 24, 2010 - Major League Soccer (MLS) Colorado Rapids

COMMERCE CITY, Colo. (Wednesday, March 24, 2010) - The Colorado Rapids announced today that the club has partnered with KWGN/Channel 2 to broadcast 25 of the team's 30 Major League Soccer 2010 regular season games live over the air and in high definition.

"We are excited to partner with KWGN and to be able to provide our fans the highest-quality Rapids television viewing experience possible this year," said Rapids Managing Director Jeff Plush. "With this relationship, we feel we are in the best position to offer our fans the most complete coverage and promotion of our club for the 2010 season."

"The Rapids have been able to cultivate a tremendously loyal and energetic fan base. Through this partnership, we hope to bring even more fans to this great sport by airing these games on broadcast television," added Peter Maroney, President and General Manager of KWGN. "We look forward to a great season."

Combined with the club's four national Fox Soccer Channel broadcasts, 29 of the Rapids' 30 games this year will be available in high definition. This marks the first time in the team's 15-year history that all local broadcasts of regular season games will be shown in high definition.

KWGN/Channel 2 will televise 13 home and 12 road Rapids matches in 2010 both live over the air and in HD. Rapids fans can find KWGN/Channel 2 on Comcast channel 2 and HD channel 656, Dish Network channel 2 for both standard and high definition, and DirectTV channel 2 for both standard and high definition.

KWGN/Channel 2's first high definition broadcast will be the 2010 season opener when the Rapids visit Chivas USA this Friday, March 26 at The Home Depot Center in Carson, California at 8:30 p.m. MT. The Rapids open the home portion of their schedule the following week, hosting the Chicago Fire on Saturday, April 3 at Dick's Sporting Goods Park in a match televised live on KWGN/Channel 2 at 2 p.m. MT.

Telefutura and Fox Soccer Channel will each nationally broadcast three Rapids road games and one home match this year. All four matches shown on Fox Soccer Channel will also be available in HD on Fox Soccer Plus, as well as in standard definition on their Spanish-language sister station, Fox Sports en Español. The Rapids' home game on Wednesday, May 5 vs. the LA Galaxy will be available on the MLS Direct Kick package, meaning that all Rapids 2010 games will be televised.

The complete 2010 Colorado Rapids TV Broadcast Schedule (All times MT):

DATE OPPONENT TIME (MST) TELEVISION

Fri, March 26 at Chivas USA 8:30 pm KWGN

Sat, April 3 CHICAGOFIRE 2:00 pm KWGN/TELEFUTURA

Sat, April 10 at Kansas CityWizards 6:30 pm KWGN

Sun, April 18 TORONTO FC 3:00 pm KWGN

Sat, April 24 at New England Revolution 5:30 pm KWGN

Sat, May 1 at San JoseEarthquakes 8:00 pm KWGN

Wed, May 5 LA GALAXY 7:30 pm MLS Direct Kick

Sat, May 15 at D.C. United 5:30 pm KWGN

Sat, May 22 at Chicago Fire 4:00 pm Fox Soccer Channel

Sat, May 29 SEATTLE SOUNDERS FC 7:00 pm KWGN

Sat, June 5 COLUMBUS CREW 7:00 pm KWGN

Sat, June 26 at Houston Dynamo 6:30 pm KWGN

Sun, July 4 NEW YORK RED BULLS 7:00 pm KWGN

Sat, July 10 at Toronto FC 10:00 am KWGN

Sat, July 17 KANSAS CITY WIZARDS 7:00 pm KWGN

Wed, July 21 PHILADELPHIA UNION 7:30 pm KWGN

Sun, July 25 at SeattleSounders FC 9:00 pm Fox Soccer Channel

Sat, July 31 FC DALLAS 2:00 pm KWGN

Sat, Aug 7 SAN JOSE EARTHQUAKES 7:00 pm KWGN

Sat, Aug 14 at Philadelphia Union 2:00 pm KWGN/TeleFutura

Sat, Aug 21 at Columbus Crew 5:30 pm KWGN

Sat, Aug 28 HOUSTON DYNAMO 7:30 pm FOX SOCCER CHANNEL

Sat, Sept 4 CHIVAS USA 7:00 pm KWGN

Sat, Sept 11 at New York Red Bulls 2:00 pm KWGN/TeleFutura

Sat, Sept 18 NEW ENGLAND REVOLUTION 7:00 pm KWGN

Sat, Sept 25 at Real Salt Lake 8:00 pm Fox Soccer Channel

Sat, Oct 2 D.C. UNITED 3:00 pm KWGN

Sat, Oct 9 at FC Dallas 2:00 pm KWGN/TeleFutura

Sat, Oct 16 at LA Galaxy 8:30 pm KWGN

Sat, Oct 23 REAL SALT LAKE 3:00 pm KWGN

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...
Digg this story
• Add to Del.icio.us


Major League Soccer Stories from March 24, 2010


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.