NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Western Hockey League Announces Western All-Star Teams

March 18, 2009 - Western Hockey League (WHL) News Release

The Western Hockey League announced today the 2008-09 WHL Western Conference First and Second All-Star Teams and the Western Conference Finalists for the 2008-09 WHL Awards. The WHL Player of the Year finalists will be announced on Wednesday, April 15th, 2009.

The WHL Western Conference All-Star Teams are as follows:



Goaltender - Chet Pickard (Winnipeg, MB), Tri-City Americans

Defenceman - Jonathon Blum (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA), Vancouver Giants *

Defenceman - Thomas Hickey (Calgary, AB), Seattle Thunderbirds

Forward - Casey Pierro-Zabotel (Kamloops, BC), Vancouver Giants *

Forward - Jamie Benn (Victoria, BC), Kelowna Rockets

Forward - Evander Kane (Vancouver, BC), Vancouver Giants


Goaltender - Dustin Tokarski (Watson, SK), Spokane Chiefs

Defenceman - Tyler Myers (DeWinton, AB), Kelowna Rockets

Defenceman - Brent Regner (Newbrook, AB), Vancouver Giants

Forward - Drayson Bowman (Littleton, CO), Spokane Chiefs

Forward - Colin Long (Santa Ana, CA), Kelowna Rockets

Forward - Taylor Procyshen (Emerald Park, SK), Tri-City Americans

* indicates unanimous selection

The WHL announced the Western Conference Finalists in the following categories.

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Western Conference - Brett Connolly (Prince George, BC), Prince George Cougars

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy

Western Conference - Chet Pickard (Winnipeg, MB), Tri-City Americans

WHL Defenseman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

Western Conference - Jonathon Blum (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA)

Vancouver Giants

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy

Western Conference - Colin Long (Santa Ana, CA), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy

Western Conference - Tyler Maxwell (Manhattan Beach, CA) Everett Silvertips

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy

Western Conference - Don Hay, Vancouver Giants

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Western Conference - Scott Bonner, Vancouver Giants

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy

Calgary Hitmen: GP - 72 W - 59 L - 9 OTL - 3 SL - 1 Pts - 122

WHL Top Scorer - Bob Clarke Trophy

Casey Pierro-Zabotel - (Kamloops, BC) Vancouver Giants

GP - 72 G - 36 A - 79 Pts - 115 PIM - 52

The winners of these awards along with the WHL Player of the Year will be announced at the 2008-09 WHL Awards Luncheon in Edmonton, Alberta on Wednesday, April 29th, 2009.

The WHL will announce the Eastern Conference awards finalists at the 2009 Playoff press conference in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan on Thursday, March 19th.

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from March 18, 2009

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew