NFL, MLB, CFL stats

 Western Hockey League

Western Hockey League Announces Player of the Year Nominees for Four Broncos Memorial Trophy

April 21, 2020 - Western Hockey League (WHL) News Release

Calgary, Alta. - The Western Hockey League announced today Dylan Cozens, forward of the Lethbridge Hurricanes, and Adam Beckman, forward of the Spokane Chiefs, have been named nominees for the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy (WHL Player of the Year).

Eastern Conference - Dylan Cozens (Lethbridge Hurricanes)

A co-captain of the Hurricanes, the Buffalo Sabres prospect led his team in scoring with 85 points (38G-47A) in 51 games, including eight power-play goals, four short-handed goals, and six game-winning goals.

The 6-foot-3, 185-pound product of Whitehorse, Yukon finished the season tied for fifth in goals and ranked seventh in league scoring. The 19-year-old led all Eastern Conference skaters with a 1.67 points-per-game mark, which ranked third overall in the WHL. Cozens was also tied for the league lead in short-handed goals. He recorded a point in 42 of the 51 games he appeared in this season.

Throughout the season, Cozens recorded 23 multi-point games, including five four-point efforts. Included in his multi-point total were eight multi-goal games, including three hat tricks. Cozens attained a combined 45 points (18G-27A) through three separate seven-game point streaks.

At the 2016 WHL Bantam Draft, the Hurricanes chose Cozens with the 19th overall selection. In 179 WHL regular season games, Cozens has recorded 223 points (95G-128A), including 25 power-play goals, six short-handed goals, and 14 game-winning goals. He has added 29 points (14G-15A) in 35 WHL playoff games, including three power-play goals and one short-handed goal.

The Sabres chose Cozens seventh overall at the 2019 NHL Draft.

Western Conference - Adam Beckman (Spokane Chiefs)

The Minnesota Wild prospect recorded 107 points (48G-59A), including 16 power-play goals, one short-handed goal, and nine game-winning goals in 63 games. The lone player to reach the 100-point mark, Beckman was named the recipient of the Bob Clarke Trophy as the WHL's Top Scorer for the 2019-20 WHL Regular Season in March 2020.

A 6-foot-1, 174-pound product of Saskatoon, Sask., the 18-year-old Beckman led the WHL in goals, was tied for third in assists and led the league in overall scoring. His 1.70 points-per-game led all WHL skaters. Beckman also ranked second in power-play goals among all WHL skaters.

Beckman tallied 32 multi-point games, led by three five-point efforts. Included in the overall figure is eight multi-goal games, featuring three hat tricks. In 52 of his 63 games this season, Beckman recorded at least one point.

In addition to an 18-game point streak that led the league, Beckman recorded an 11-game point streak and was one of just six players to record multiple double-digit game point streaks this season.

At the 2016 WHL Bantam Draft, the Chiefs selected Beckman in the fifth round, 96th overall. In 132 WHL regular season games, Beckman has recorded 169 points (80G-89A), including 24 power-play goals, one short-handed goal, and 11 game-winning goals. Beckman has added 12 points (8G-4A) in 15 WHL playoff games, including three power-play goals and two game-winning goals.

The Wild chose Beckman in the third round (75th overall) of the 2019 NHL Draft.

The Four Broncos Memorial Trophy is the most prestigious award of the WHL and recognizes the player whose performance is deemed to be the most outstanding during the WHL Regular Season.

On December 30, 1986, the Swift Current Broncos were involved in a tragic bus crash while travelling to a game in Regina. Trent Kresse, Scott Kruger, Chris Mantyka and Brent Ruff lost their lives as a result of the crash. The Broncos have posthumously retired the numbers of all four players.

The Four Broncos Memorial Trophy serves as a constant memory in honour of the four players to this day.

WHL Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Year are voted upon annually by WHL General Managers and Head Coaches. The winner of the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy for WHL Player of the Year will be announced on Wednesday, May 20.

Winners of the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy / WHL Player of the Year Award (since 2000):

2018-19: Joachim Blichfeld, Portland Winterhawks

2017-18: Carter Hart, Everett Silvertips

2016-17: Sam Steel, Regina Pats

2015-16: Dryden Hunt, Moose Jaw Warriors

2014-15: Oliver Bjorkstrand, Portland Winterhawks

2013-14: Sam Reinhart, Kootenay ICE

2012-13: Adam Lowry, Swift Current Broncos

2011-12: Brendan Shinnimin, Tri-City Americans

2010-11: Darcy Kuemper, Red Deer Rebels

2009-10: Jordan Eberle, Regina Pats

2008-09: Brett Sonne, Calgary Hitmen

2007-08: Karl Alzner, Calgary Hitmen

2006-07: Kris Russell, Medicine Hat Tigers

2005-06: Justin Pogge, Calgary Hitmen

2004-05: Eric Fehr, Brandon Wheat Kings

2003-04: Cam Ward, Red Deer Rebels

2002-03: Josh Harding, Regina Pats

2001-02: Dan Hamhuis, Prince George Cougars

2000-01: Justin Mapletoft, Red Deer Rebels

1999-00: Brad Moran, Calgary Hitmen

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from April 21, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central