NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Walby Shows Skills Among ECHL All-Stars

January 20, 2004 - ECHL (ECHL) - Mississippi Sea Wolves News Release

PEORIA, Ill. – Mississippi Sea Wolves captain Steffon Walby was the individual winner in the Accuracy Shooting event going 4-for-8 at the 2004 Par-A-Dice ECHL All-Star Skills Competition, despite the Eastern Conference defeating the Western Conference, 11-10, in front of 6,169 fans at Carver Arena.

Walby also took part in the Breakaway Relay event, but missed on goaltender Chris Houle of Trenton.

Brent Gauvreau also represented Mississippi. He was defeated by Reading’s Jon Zion in the Puck Control Relay Individual and missed against Atlantic City goaltender Scott Stirling in the Breakaway Relay.

Results from the 2004 Par-A-Dice ECHL All-Star Skills Competition are as follows:

Eastern Conference 11 d. Western Conference 10

Puck Control Relay Team

Eastern Conference (Kevin Spiewak, South Carolina; Tom Reimann, Greensboro; and Alex Burrows, Columbia) d. Western Conference (David Cornacchia, Idaho; Greg Jacina, Augusta; and Greg Barber, San Diego.

Puck Control Relay Individual

Eastern Conference (Jon Zion, Reading) d. Western Conference (Brent Gauvreau, Mississippi).

Fastest Skater

Eastern Conference (14.508 average) d. Western Conference (15.074 average)

1. Kevin Spiewak, South Carolina, 14.166 2. Sam Paolini, Atlantic City, 14.550 3. Brian McCullough, Florida, 14.808 4. Joe Talbot, Alaska, 14.791 5. J-F Plourde, Columbus, 15.033 6. Kevin Truelson, Fresno, 15.399

Hardest Shot

Western Conference (92.775 average) d. Eastern Conference (92.375 average)

1. Ben Storey, Louisiana, 96.3 2. Randy Rowe, Peoria, 94.1 2. Brian Fahey, Atlantic City, 94.1 4. Troy Milam, Gwinnett, 93.0 5. Morten Ask, Toledo, 91.2 6. Dave Cousineau, Las Vegas, 91.1 7. Corey Neilson, Pensacola, 90.7 8. Nate Kiser, Dayton, 90.1

Rapid Fire

Western Conference d. Eastern Conference

Eastern Conference (4 of 30) – Jason Notermann, Johnstown and Mark McRae, Florence, 1 of 10 vs. Fred Cloutier, Louisiana (9 saves); Jason Maleyko, Cincinnati, and Brian McCullough, Florida, 3 of 10 vs. Michael Garnett, Gwinnett (7 saves); Chris Lynch, Greenville and Dusty Jamieson, Charlotte, 0 of 10 vs. Dan Ellis, Idaho (10 saves).

Western Conference (7 of 30) – Justin Kelly, Las Vegas, and Charles Linglet, Alaska, 1 of 10 vs. Scott Stirling, Atlantic City (9 saves); Andrew Ianiero, Bakersfield and John Snowden, Texas, 3 of 10 vs. Chris Houle, Trenton (7 saves); Greg Chambers, Pensacola and Nick Ganga, Long Beach, 3 of 10 vs. Cory Campbell, Johnstown (7 saves).

Accuracy Shooting

Eastern Conference (9 of 23) d. Western Conference (8 of 23)

Individual Winner – Steffon Walby, Mississippi (4 of 8)

Eastern Conference – Shawn Limpright, Roanoke (3 of 7), David Masse, Reading (3 of 8), Jason Jaffray, Wheeling (3 of 8).

Western Conference – J-F Plourde, Columbus (1 of 8), Justin Kelly, Las Vegas (3 of 7), Steffon Walby, Mississippi (4 of 8).

Breakaway Relay

Eastern Conference d. Western Conference

Western Conference vs. Cory Campbell, Johnstown (Saves – 4 of 6) – Charles Linglet, Alaska (made), Greg Jacina, Augusta (made), Andrew Ianiero, Bakersfield (missed), J-F Plourde, Columbus (missed), Kevin Truelson, Fresno (missed), Troy Milam, Gwinnett (missed).

Eastern Conference vs. Dan Ellis, Idaho (Saves – 2 of 6)– Sam Paolini, Atlantic City (made), Dusty Jamieson, Charlotte (made), Jason Maleyko, Cincinnati (made), Alex Burrows, Columbia (missed), Nate Kiser, Dayton (missed), Mark McRae, Florence (made).

Western Conference vs. Chris Houle, Trenton (Saves – 4 of 6) – David Cornacchia, Idaho (missed), Greg Chambers, Pensacola (missed), Dave Cousineau, Las Vegas (missed), Nick Ganga, Long Beach (made), Ben Storey, Louisiana (made), Steffon Walby, Mississippi (missed).

Eastern Conference vs. Fred Cloutier, Louisiana (Saves – 5 of 6) – Brian Fahey, Atlantic City (missed), Brian McCullough, Florida (missed), Tom Reimann, Greensboro (missed), Chris Lynch, Greenville (missed), Jason Notermann, Johnstown (made), David Masse, Reading (missed).

Western Conference vs. Scott Stirling, Atlantic City (Saves – 4 of 6) – Justin Kelly, Las Vegas (missed), Brent Gauvreau, Mississippi (missed), Corey Neilson, Pensacola (missed), Greg Barber, San Diego (made), John Snowden, Texas (missed), Joe Talbot, Alaska (made).

Eastern Conference vs. Michael Garnett, Gwinnett (Saves – 5 of 6) – Jon Zion, Reading (missed), Shawn Limpright, Roanoke (missed), Kevin Spiewak, South Carolina (made), Morten Ask, Toledo (missed), Jason Jaffray, Wheeling (missed), Randy Rowe, Peoria (missed).

Outstanding Goaltender – Fredric Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators (14 of 16 saves)

The Par-A-Dice ECHL All-Star Game will be played at 7:30 p.m. CT tomorrow at Carver Arena at the Peoria Civic Center Sponsored by the Par-A-Dice Hotel Casino and hosted by the Peoria Rivermen.

The radio broadcast of the Par-A-Dice ECHL All-Star Game will begin locally at 7:15 p.m. on ESPN Radio WXBD-AM 1490. Television coverage is available live to subscribers of NHL Center Ice, the “Official Sports Package of the ECHL,” on DIRECTV beginning at 7:30 p.m. The game is also available on the internet through Yahoo! Events at

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from January 20, 2004

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Mississippi Sea Wolves Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew