NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Texas Stars Playoff Update #16

April 29, 2010 - American Hockey League (AHL) - Texas Stars News Release

The Texas Stars will begin their series with the Chicago Wolves on Friday night in Chicago. The Stars went 4-3-1-0 against the Wolves this season, while Chicago posted a 4-3-0-1 mark. The road team posted a 3-1-0-0 record in the season series. Texas outscored Chicago 23-22 and the Stars posted the only shutout of the regular season series.

West Division Finals Schedule (best of seven)

Game 1 - Fri., April 30 - Texas at Chicago, 7:30 p.m.

Game 2 - Sun., May 2 - Texas at Chicago, 3:00 p.m.

Game 3 - Tue., May 4 - Chicago at Texas, 7:30 p.m.

Game 4 - Wed., May 5 - Chicago at Texas, 7:30 p.m.

Game 5 - Fri., May 7 - Chicago at Texas, 7:30 p.m. - X

Game 6 - Sun., May 9 - Texas at Chicago, 3:00 p.m. - X

Game 7 - Tues., May 11 - Texas at Chicago, 7:00 p.m. -X

X = If Necessary

Abbotsford and Hamilton Start North Division Finals Tonight

Fresh off a comeback from a 3-1 series deficit in the first round against Rochester, Abbotsford begins the North Division Finals tonight against the regular-season division champion, the Hamilton Bulldogs. The Heat, who became just the fourth team in AHL history to win Games 6 and 7 of a playoff series on the road, went just 1-3-0-0 at Hamilton's Copps Coliseum during the regular season, with three of those four visits occurring before the calendar turned to 2010. Hamilton disposed of Manitoba in six games of the first round. Hamilton, which finished with the AHL's top-ranked regular-season defense (2.28 goals allowed per game), held Abbotsford to just 11 goals in eight meetings between the teams (1.38 goals per game)

Manchester Nets Road Win in Game 2, Hershey Goes for Sweep in Albany Tonight

Bud Holloway scored 4:29 into overtime for his fifth game-winning goal of the playoffs as Manchester evened the Atlantic Division Finals with a 3-2 win at Worcester. Game 3 is set for Friday in Manchester, NH...The defending Calder Cup champs are one win away from moving into the Eastern Conference Finals. Hershey can complete a four-game, six-day sweep of Albany when the teams take the Times Union Center ice for Game 4 of the East Division Finals tonight. The Bears have trailed in the third period in six of their first eight playoff games but have rallied to win five of those six contests, including all three in the series vs. the River Rats.

Thursday Night's Game 4-29-10:

Game 2 - Manchester 3, WORCESTER 2 (OT) (Series tied, 1-1)


Game 4 - Hershey at Albany, 7:00 pm (EDT) (HER leads series, 3-0)

Game 1 - Abbotsford at Hamilton, 7:30 pm (EDT)


- At 48-years old, Chicago defenseman Chris Chelios is the oldest professional hockey player in North America.

- Texas winger Scott McCulloch attended Colorado College with Chicago's Joey Crabb and Brett Sterling.

- The Texas roster features 14 NHL draft picks, including two first round selections (Landon Wilson and Brent Krahn).

Playoff Format.......

Four rounds, with each round slated as a best of seven series. The top four teams in each division qualify for playoffs. The teams play within their division for the first two rounds. The division winners will meet in the conference finals. The winner of the Western Conference will play the winner of the Eastern Conference for the Calder Cup. In order to take the Calder Cup, a team must win 16 games.

The Calder Cup.......

The coveted Calder Cup has been a motivational force for American Hockey League teams throughout the League's 73-year history. It is one of our sport's greatest challenges and ultimate honors to hoist the Calder Cup in victory.

The trophy is named for Frank Calder, who served as the National Hockey League's first President from 1917 to 1943. During the 1920's, Mr. Calder was instrumental in guiding hockey into the mainstream of America's major cities including Boston, New York, Detroit and Chicago, while helping in the formation of the American League.

The Calder Cup trophy itself was actually first awarded in 1938 to the Providence Reds for winning the second International-American Hockey League championship. (In 1996, George Parsons of the Syracuse Stars was presented the Calder Cup in a ceremony at the Onondaga County War Memorial, as it is believed the Stars never received a trophy for their 1937 championship.

• Discuss this story on the American Hockey League message board...

American Hockey League Stories from April 29, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Texas Stars Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central