NFL, MLB, CFL stats

 Major League Soccer

LAFC Forward Diego Rossi Named AT&T MLS Young Player of the Year

November 16, 2020 - Major League Soccer (MLS) News Release

NEW YORK - Major League Soccer announced today that Los Angeles Football Club forward Diego Rossi has been named the 2020 AT&T MLS Young Player of the Year, honoring the Uruguay National Team star as the top player in the league age 22 and under.

The 22-year-old Rossi wins the inaugural AT&T Young Player of the Year award after a breakout year for LAFC in which he led the league with 14 goals scored to become the youngest player in MLS history to win the Golden Boot presented by Audi. Rossi finished the season with 14 goals and four assists across 19 matches played, with his 18 combined goals and assists tied for the second-most in the league.

Highlights of Rossi's season can be found HERE. This marks the fifth individual award for Rossi this season, as he also captured the regular season Golden Boot and a trio of honors at the MLS is Back Tournament including the Golden Boot presented by Audi, Young Player of the Tournament presented by AT&T5 5G, and being named to the tournament Best XI presented by BODYARMOR.

Rossi finished the season with a career-high goals-per-game average of .737 on the year and fueled the top offense in the league. LAFC scored a league-leading 47 goals in the regular season this year, with their 2.14 goals-per-game average standing as the seventh-most in league history.

In its inaugural season, the AT&T Young Player of the Year award honors the top player in the league age 22 and under. For the 2020 season, any player born on or before Jan. 1, 1998 was eligible for the award.

The AT&T Young Player of the Year award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

AT&T Young Player of the Year Player % Club % Media % Final %

Diego Rossi (LAFC) 21.16% 30.70% 35.44% 29.10%

Brenden Aaronson (PHI) 29.00% 37.72% 19.89% 28.87%

Daryl Dike (ORL) 12.38% 9.65% 10.34% 10.79%

Ayo Akinola (TOR) 7.99% 6.14% 6.12% 6.75%

Mark McKenzie (PHI) 5.33% 7.02% 7.81% 6.72%

Brian Rodríguez (LAFC) 3.13% 2.63% 3.38% 3.05%

Cole Bassett (COL) 1.88% 1.75% 3.38% 2.34%

All-Time AT&T MLS Young Player of the Year / Rookie of the Year Winners

Young Player of the Year

2020: Diego Rossi - Los Angeles Football Club

Rookie of the Year

2019: Andre Shinyashiki - Colorado Rapids

2018: Corey Baird - Real Salt Lake

2017: Julian Gressel - Atlanta United

2016: Jordan Morris - Seattle Sounders FC

2015: Cyle Larin - Orlando City SC

2014: Tesho Akindele - FC Dallas

2013: Dillon Powers - Colorado Rapids

2012: Austin Berry - Chicago Fire

2011: C.J. Sapong - Sporting Kansas City

2010: Andy Najar - D.C. United

2009: Omar Gonzalez - LA Galaxy

2008: Sean Franklin - LA Galaxy

2007: Maurice Edu - Toronto FC

2006: Jonathan Bornstein - Chivas USA

2005: Michael Parkhurst - New England Revolution

2004: Clint Dempsey - New England Revolution

2003: Damani Ralph - Chicago Fire

2002: Kyle Martino - Columbus Crew

2001: Rodrigo Faria - MetroStars

2000: Carlos Bocanegra - Chicago Fire

1999: Jay Heaps - Miami Fusion

1998: Ben Olsen - D.C. United

1997: Mike Duhaney - Tampa Bay Mutiny

1996: Steve Ralston - Tampa Bay Mutiny

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 16, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central