NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Firebirds To Take On Pioneers In 2009 ArenaCup Playoffs

July 27, 2009 - arenafootball2 (af2) - Albany Firebirds News Release

ALBANY, NY - The Albany Firebirds announced today that the arenafootball2 club has secured a 2009 ArenaCup playoff berth in place of the Florida Firecats, who will not participate in this year's post-season due to their failure to honor league commitments. Albany takes over the eighth seed in the American conference and head to Wilkes-Barre/Scranton to face the Pioneers this Saturday, August 1st in a 7:00 p.m. kickoff.

The Firebirds began the 2009 season with a 0-5 start, but after the return of starting quarterback Stephen Wasil, the club battled back into playoff contention by going 7-4 over the remainder of the schedule. The 2009 ArenaCup will mark the first playoff appearance for the Albany af2 franchise since 2003, when the Albany Conquest won their second of back-to-back Division Championships.

Below please find the entire af2 first round playoff schedule (subject to change). All times are Eastern.

The Firebirds face the top-seeded Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Pioneers on the road in the first round of the 2009 af2 playoffs on Saturday, August 1st at 7:00 p.m. For more information please contact the Firebirds at (518) 487-2244 or online at

American Conference First Round Playoff Schedule:

Friday, July 31

No. 7 Manchester (7-9) at No. 2 Iowa (12-4) 8:05 p.m.

Saturday, August 1

No. 8 Albany (7-9) at No. 1 Wilkes-Barre/Scranton (13-3) 7:00 p.m.

No. 5 Kentucky (10-6) at No. 4 South Georgia (11-5) 7:30 p.m.

No. 6 Green Bay (10-6) at No. 3 Tennessee Valley (11-5) 8:30 p.m.

NATIONAL CONFERENCE First Round Playoff Schedule:

Saturday, August 1

No. 6 Rio Grande Valley (9-7) at No. 3 Bossier-Shreveport (11-5) 8:00 p.m.

No. 7 Oklahoma City (7-9) at No. 2 Tulsa (13-3) 8:05 p.m.

No. 5 Arkansas (11-5) at No. 4 Boise (12-4) 9:10 p.m.

No. 8 Stockton (6-10) at No. 1 Spokane (15-1) 10:00 p.m.

2009 ArenaCup Playoff Format

Sixteen teams qualify for the playoffs, eight from each conference (American and National). The eight qualifying teams in each conference consist of the three division champions and five Wild Cards, determined by best overall record. Seeding in each conference is based on overall record, with the top three seeds in each conference reserved for the division champions, regardless of record. In the First Round (July 31-August 2), the first three seeds in each conference are the three division winners. The next five teams are seeded by next best five overall records. Teams ranked 1-4 earn home playoff games with 1 hosting 8, 2 hosting 7, 3 hosting 6 and 4 hosting 5. In the Second Round (August 7-9), the winner of the 1-8 game plays the winner of the 4-5 game. The winner of the 2-7 game plays the winner of the 3-6 game. The home team is decided by the team with the higher seed. The winners of the Second Round will meet for the Conference Championships on the weekend of August 14-16.

The winners of the Conference Championships face off in the 2009 ArenaCup on Saturday, August 22 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas.

• Discuss this story on the arenafootball2 message board...

arenafootball2 Stories from July 27, 2009

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Albany Firebirds Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central