NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Cyclones Head Back East

July 11, 2016 - ECHL (ECHL) - Cincinnati Cyclones News Release

Cincinnati, OH- The ECHL has announced their divisional realignment plan for the 2016-2017 season. As a result of this plan, the Cyclones will now be members of the Eastern Conference's South Division. The move marks a return to the Eastern Conference for Cincinnati, who spent last season in the Western Conference as members of the Midwest Division.

The Cyclones will be joining the Atlanta Gladiators, Florida Everblades, Greenville Swamp Rabbits, Norfolk Admirals, Orlando Solar Bears, and South Carolina Stingrays. Cincinnati's former divisional foes Ft. Wayne, Indy, and Quad City remain in the Western Conference as members of the new Central Division.

Cincinnati has five games against their new divisional rivals- two with Atlanta (11/18 in Cincinnati and 1/14 in Atlanta), two with Greenville (1/15 and 4/7 in Greenville) and one with South Carolina (4/8 in South Carolina). The Cyclones skated in nine games against South Division teams in 2015-2016, compiling a 3-5-1-0 record in those contests.

The League has also announced a new playoff format to go along with the realignment. The top four teams in each division will make the playoffs, with rounds one and two being played against divisional opponents.

Full ECHL Realignment


NORTH DIVISION - Adirondack, Brampton, Elmira, Manchester, Reading, Wheeling

SOUTH DIVISION - Atlanta, Cincinnati, Florida, Greenville, Norfolk, Orlando, South Carolina


CENTRAL DIVISION - Fort Wayne, Indy, Kalamazoo, Quad City, Toledo, Tulsa, Wichita

MOUNTAIN DIVISION - Alaska, Allen, Colorado, Idaho, Missouri, Rapid City, Utah

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from July 11, 2016

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Cincinnati Cyclones Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew