NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Barre, Wells Named To 2007 All-Ironman Team

June 29, 2007 - Arena Football League (1987-2008) (AFL I) - Columbus Destroyers News Release

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Columbus Destroyers wide receiver/linebacker B.J. Barre and fullback/linebacker Harold Wells have been named to the Arena Football League's All-Ironman Team, the club and League announced today.

Barre (6-2, 210, Ohio State), who appeared in 15 games in his second season with the Destroyers, caught 22 passes for 291 yards and seven touchdowns, a career high. He added eight rushes for 34 yards and two touchdowns to his offensive totals in 2007. Barre (26) played a key role in the defensive secondary after the loss of defensive back Rober' Freeman as he accumulated 51 tackles (44UT-14AT), two fumble recoveries and intercepted one pass.

Wells (6-0, 270, Gardner Webb) suited up in all 16 games this season. The Ft. Gorden, Georgia native, set career highs 73 rushes for 197 yards (5th in the AFL) and 13 touchdowns. Wells (24) is the franchise's all-time leading rusher with 331 yards. On defense he set career numbers making 19.5 stops (17UT-5AT), two tackles for loss of yardage and two fumble recoveries.

Barre and Wells join the following Destroyers' players who have earned end of the season League honors: Columbus Destroyers defensive lineman Ken Jones, 2007 First Team All-Arena; center Will Rabatin, 2007 All-Rookie Team; defensive back Jerald Brown 2006 First Team All-Arena and 2006 ADT Defensive Player of the Year; Buffalo Destroyers' defensive specialist Dwaine Carpenter, 2003 Second Team All-Arena; kicker Steve McLaughlin, 2002 Second Team All-Arena.

The Destroyers march to ArenaBowl XXI begins Saturday, June 30, when they travel to take on the Tampa Bay Storm. Kickoff at St. Pete Times Forum is set for noon (ET) with live coverage on Russell Athletic Arena Football on ESPN with Mark Jones and Merrill Hoge calling the action. The Destroyers Radio Network and flagship station WINK 107.1 FM will air the Wild Card game with the pre-game show beginning at 11:30 a.m. (ET).

WE BELIEVE that you can never get enough football. Stay tuned to for updates on the Mitsubishi Motors Drive to ArenaBowl XXI. For information on 2008 Destroyers season tickets call (877) COLS-AFL. Groups of 10 or more are eligible for group rates by calling (614) 246-HITS.



Fullback/Linebacker Duke Pettijohn Dallas Desperados

Fullback/Linebacker Robert Thomas Colorado Crush

Fullback/Linebacker Harold Wells Columbus Destroyers

Fullback/Linebacker Idris Price Philadelphia Soul

Offensive/Defensive Lineman Chris Snyder Colorado Crush

Offensive/Defensive Lineman Winifield Garnett Grand Rapids Rampage

Offensive/Defensive Lineman Reggie Lee Orlando Predators

Wide Receiver/Defensive Back Will Pettis Dallas Desperados

Wide Receiver/Linebacker DeJuan Alfonzo Chicago Rush

Wide Receiver/Linebacker Lawrence Samuels Tampa Bay Storm

Wide Receiver/Linebacker Ryan Dennard Utah Blaze

Wide Receiver/Linebacker B.J. Barre Columbus Destroyers

Wide Receiver/Linebacker Jerome Riley Grand Rapids Rampage

Wide Receiver/Linebacker Jason Geathers San Jose SaberCats

• Discuss this story on the Arena Football League (1987-2008) message board...

Arena Football League (1987-2008) Stories from June 29, 2007

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Columbus Destroyers Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew