NFL, NBA, NHL stats

1963 & 1966 Oil Kings Inducted into Hall of Fame

May 27, 2011 - Western Hockey League (WHL) - Edmonton Oil Kings News Release

Red Deer, AB - The 1963 and 1966 Memorial Cup champion Edmonton Oil Kings will be forever immortalized in the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, as they were officially inducted today as part of the class of 2011.

The ceremony was held today at the Hall of Fame in Red Deer for the 2011 inductees, which include the two Memorial Cup champion Oil Kings squads, as well as fellow hockey team the 1950 Edmonton Waterloo Mercurys, hockey players Val Fonteyne and Glenn Hall, and eight other athletes and builders.

The 1963 Oil Kings captured the Abbott Cup and represented the Central Alberta Hockey League at the Memorial Cup against the Ontario Hockey Association champion Niagara Falls Flyers. The seven-game championship series was held at the Edmonton Gardens, and despite losing the first game 8-0, the Oil Kings battled back and won the series 4-2.

The 1963 Oil Kings included General Manager Leo LeClerc, Head Coach Buster Brayshaw, players Ron Anderson, Butch Barber, Tom Bend, Roger Bourbonnais, Jim Brown, Rich Bulloch, Jim Chase, Vince Downey, Jim Eagle, Bob Falkenberg, Doug Fox, Harold Fleming, Russ Kirk, Bert Marshall, Max Mestinsek, Butch Paul, Greg Pilling, Pat Quinn, Dave Rochefort, Glen Sather and Reg Tashuk, as well as trainer Walter Serediak and stick boy Swede Knox.

The Oil Kings returned to compete in the Memorial Cup final in both 1964 and 1965, but they lost to the Toronto Marlboros and Niagara Falls, respectively, before returning to glory in 1966. It was their seventh straight season playing for the national title, and their opponents this year were Bobby Orr and the Oshawa Generals. The Oil Kings once again prevailed in six games, winning the series 4-2.

"This is such an honour ... these kids just poured their hearts out all series," said 1966 Oil Kings Head Coach Ray Kinasewich, who shared stories of scrimmaging for four hours after their Game 3 loss and pulling out all the stops to limit Orr. "I have never coached a bunch of kids in my life who were so attentive, and they performed well. They were all students of the game and they're so deserving of this induction today. It's just incredible."

The 1966 Oil Kings included General Manager Bill Hunter, Head Coach Kinasewich, players Ron Anderson, Garnet Bailey, Doug Barrie, Brian Bennett, Ron Caley, Craig Cameron, Bob Falkenberg, Al Hamilton, Jim Harrison, Brian Hague, Galen Head, Ted Hodgson, Kerry Ketter, Ross Lonsberry, Jim Knox, Don McLeod, Harold Myers, Eugene Peacosh, Ross Perkins, Dave Rochefort, Ted Rogers, Jim Schraefel, Red Simpson and Ron Walters, as well as trainers Walter Serediak and Jim Mitchell, and stick boys Swede Knox and Murray Pierce.

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from May 27, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.