NFL, MLB, CFL stats


Toledo Wins 2014-15 Brahbam Cup

April 12, 2015 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

Toledo Walleye - 2014-15 Brahbam Cup Champions
Toledo Walleye - 2014-15 Brahbam Cup Champions

PRINCETON, N.J. - The Toledo Walleye clinched the 2014-15 Brabham Cup championship on Sunday by virtue of an 8-2 win over Kalamazoo.

Toledo's regular-season championship ends the run of the Alaska Aces, who had captured the Brabham Cup in each of the previous four seasons, setting an ECHL record.

The Walleye concluded the 2014-15 season 50-15-7 for 107 points, one season after finishing with 49 points. Toledo's 58-point improvement over last season is the best single-season turnaround in ECHL history. Toledo is the first ECHL team to win at least 50 games in a season since the 2007-08 season when both Texas and Cincinnati reached the 50-win plateau.

It is the third time in Toledo's ECHL history that the club has won the regular-season championship. The Toledo Storm captured Brabham Cup honors in 1991-92 and 2002-03.

The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.

The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams. The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing over 560 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.

Brabham Cup Champions


2015 Toledo Walleye

107 points

2014 Alaska Aces 97 points

2013 Alaska Aces 106 points

2012 Alaska Aces 97 points

2011 Alaska Aces 97 points

2010 Idaho Steelheads 103 points

2009 Florida Everblades 105 points

2008 Cincinnati Cyclones 115 points

2007 Las Vegas Wranglers 106 points

2006 Alaska Aces 113 points

2005 Pensacola Ice Pilots 107 points

2004 San Diego Gulls 108 points

2003 Toledo Storm 104 points

2002 Louisiana IceGators 116 points

2001 Trenton Titans 104 points

2000 Florida Everblades 108 points

1999 Pee Dee Pride 106 points

1998 Louisiana IceGators 96 points

1997 South Carolina Stingrays 100 points

1996 Richmond Renegades 105 points

1995 Wheeling Thunderbirds 97 points

1994 Knoxville Cherokees 94 points

1993 Wheeling Thunderbirds 88 points

1992 Toledo Storm 95 points

1991 Knoxville Cherokees 97 points

1990 Winston-Salem Thunderbirds 82 points

1989 Erie Panthers 77 points

Images from this story

Toledo Walleye - 2014-15 Brahbam Cup Champions
Toledo Walleye - 2014-15 Brahbam Cup Champions


• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 12, 2015

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central