Major League Soccer

Tigres UANL Wins 2023 Campeones Cup

September 28, 2023 - Major League Soccer (MLS) News Release

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - In its fifth edition of the Campeones Cup, Tigres UANL defeated LAFC in a 4-2 penalty shootout following a 0-0 match in regular time at BMO Stadium on Wednesday night. With the win, Tigres becomes the second team in tournament history to win the Campeones Cup twice and remains as the only LIGA MX team to have lifted the trophy.

In front of 20,605 fans at BMO Field, tonight's Campeones Cup victory becomes the third title won by head coach Robert Dante Siboldi at the helm and the club's first championship since winning the 2023 Campeon de Campeones.

Penalty Shootout

LAFC (1-0) - Denis Bouanga (goal)

TIG (1-1) - Andre-Pierre Gignac (goal)

LAFC (1-1) - Timothy Tillman (miss)

TIG (1-2) - Nicolas Ibáñez (goal)

LAFC (2-2) - Ilie Sanchez (goal)

TIG (2-3) - Guido Pizarro (goal)

LAFC (2-3) - Ryan Hollingshead (miss)

TIG (2-4) - Jesus Angulo (goal)

Campeones Cup History

2023 LAFC 0, Tigres 0 (TIG win 4-2 in PKs) BMO Stadium, Los Angeles, CA

2022 New York City FC 2, Atlas FC 0 Yankee Stadium, New York, NY

2021 Columbus Crew 2, Cruz Azul 0 New Crew Stadium, Columbus, OH

2019 Atlanta United FC 3, Club América 2 Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta, GA

2018 Toronto FC 1, Tigres 3 BMO Field, Toronto, Canada

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from September 28, 2023

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central