NFL, MLB, CFL stats

National Lacrosse League Completes 2020 Entry Draft

September 18, 2020 - National Lacrosse League (NLL) News Release

PHILADELPHIA - Players, coaches, and general managers from the National Lacrosse League's (NLL) 13 franchises, spread across North America, assembled virtually Thursday night for the League's 2020 Draft Selection Show. Unlike years past, they may not have been in the same room, but that didn't stop the NLL Entry Draft from being the moment of a lifetime for over 90 players drafted across 6 rounds. Team "war rooms" and player Zoom "rooms" were connected in real-time to produce a world-class broadcast event that was simultaneously streamed on B/R Live, @NLL Facebook, and YouTube. The New York Riptide made their second consecutive first overall selection, taking Cornell forward Jeff Teat (Brampton, ON).

Vancouver, which had originally been slotted at No. 3, moved up one spot to No. 2, trading with Rochester to guarantee to get their man, Drexel defenseman Reid Bowering (Coquitlam, B.C.). Then Rochester, like New York having just completed its first NLL season as an expansion franchise, grabbed Robert Morris forward Ryan Smith (Burlington, ON) third. Rounding out the top five picks: San Diego snagged Ohio State forward Tre Leclaire (Surrey, B.C.), and Calgary chose forward Tanner Cook (Courtice, ON) of North Carolina.

"We may not have been together in the past at Xfinity Live in Philadelphia or other cities and locations before that, but it was another memorable Entry Draft with some great young talent moving to the next level," said NLL Commissioner Nick Sakiewicz. "We are proud of the way NLL teams, players, and staff adjusted and produced such a top tier event that captured the excitement of the first major step towards the league's 35th season."

The first round continued with 16 total selections, as Georgia made the first of its four initial round picks at No. 6, grabbing University of Vermont transition Robert Hudson (Oakville, ON), then taking Ohio State defenseman Jeff Henrick (Orangeville, ON) at No. 8, Ethan Walker (Peterborough, ON) at No. 10 and Laine Hruska (Warman, SK.) at No. 13. Other first-rounders included forward Marshall Powless (Six Nations) at No. 7 and Connor McClelland (Brampton, ON) at No. 12 by Saskatchewan; Brad McCulley (Victoria, B.C.) at No. 9 by Buffalo; Ethan Riggs (Hamilton, ON) at No. 11 by Halifax; Harrison Matsuoka (Calgary, AB) at No. 11 by Calgary; Mac O'Keefe (Syosset, N.Y.) at No. 15 by San Diego; and Jackson Suboch (Toronto) at No. 16 completing the round by Philadelphia.

The first three round selections are listed below; the full list is updated at

First Round:

New York, Jeff Teat, Cornell Univ., Forward

Vancouver (from Rochester), Reid Bowering, Drexel Univ., Defenseman

Rochester (from Vancouver), Ryan Smith, Robert Morris Univ., Forward

San Diego, Tre Leclaire, Ohio State Univ., Forward

Calgary, Tanner Cook, Univ. of North Carolina, Forward

Georgia (from Colorado), Robert Hudson, Univ. of Vermont, Transition

Saskatchewan (from Philadelphia), Marshall Powless, Six Nations, Forward

Georgia, Jeff Henrick, Ohio State Univ., Defenseman

Buffalo, Brad McCulley, Robert Morris Univ., Forward

Georgia (from Toronto), Ethan Walker, Univ. of Denver, Forward

Halifax, Ethan Riggs, Niagara College, Defenseman

Saskatchewan, Connor McClelland, Marquette University, Defenseman

Georgia (from New England), Laine Hruska, Saskatchewan SWAT, Goaltender

Calgary (from Halifax, compensatory), Harrison Matsuoka, Stony Brook Univ., Transition

San Diego (compensatory), Mac O'Keefe, Penn State Univ., Forward

Philadelphia (compensatory), Jackson Suboch, Univ. of Massachusetts, Defenseman

Second Round

New York, Mathieu Boissonneault, Canisius College, Defenseman

Colorado (from New England (Rochester via Toronto via Colorado via New York via New England), Ron John, Univ. of Albany, Transition

Buffalo (from Vancouver via Buffalo via Rochester), Sam La Roue, New Westminster, Forward

Calgary (from Halifax via San Diego), Ethan Ticehurst, Towson Univ., Transition

Calgary, Patrick Dodds, Manhattan College, Forward

Colorado, Brett McIntyre, UMBC, Forward

Buffalo (from Philadelphia), Jordan Stouros, Limestone University, Defenseman

New England (from Georgia via Colorado), Charlie Kitchen, Univ. of Delaware, Forward

Rochester (from Buffalo), Ty Thompson, Univ. of Hartford, Forward

Saskatchewan (from Toronto via Georgia via Colorado), Bobby Kidd, Langley, Transition

Halifax, Ryan Terefenko, Ohio State, Defense

Colorado (from Saskatchewan via Vancouver via Rochester), Jordan Trottier, RIT, Defenseman

New York (from New England), Andrew Borgatti, Kitchener-Waterloo, Defenseman

Toronto (compensatory), T.D. Ierlan, Yale Univ., Transition

Colorado (compensatory), Jalen Chaster, Coquitlam, Transition

Calgary (compensatory), Justin Geddie, Nanaimo, Goaltender

Colorado (from New England, compensatory), Tyler Sceviour, RIT, Defenseman

Philadelphia (from Saskatchewan) (compensatory), Bryan Costabile, Univ. of Notre Dame, Transition/Forward

Philadelphia (from Saskatchewan) (compensatory), Dylan Foulds, Penn State Univ., Forward

New York (from San Diego) (compensatory), Larson Sundown, RIT, Forward

Third Round:

Calgary (from New York), Rhys Blake, Port Coquitlam, Defenseman

Rochester, Kevin Owen Hill, Syracuse, Transition

Georgia (from Vancouver), Sam Firth, Bishops Univ., Forward

Colorado (from San Diego), Curtis Conley, Trent Univ., Transition

New England (from Calgary), Michael Sowers, Princeton Univ./Duke Univ., Forward

Colorado, Pat Aslanian, Univ. of Notre Dame, Forward

Saskatchewan (from Philadelphia), Clark Walter, Limestone Univ., Forward

Vancouver (from Georgia), Adam Kromer, Univ. of Guelph, Forward

Rochester (from Buffalo), Jared Conners, Univ. of Virginia, Defenseman

Toronto (from Saskatchewan via Toronto), Phil Mazzuca, Western Univ., Transition

Halifax, Matt Gaudet, Yale Univ., Forward

Halifax (from Saskatchewan), Owen Friesen, Brock Univ., Transition

Vancouver (from Georgia via New England), Matteo Tack, Coquitlam, Goaltender

San Diego (compensatory), Danny Logan, Denver Univ., Defenseman

Philadelphia (compensatory), Ben French, Univ. of Vermont, Forward

Colorado (compensatory), Peter Dearth, Syracuse, Defenseman

• Discuss this story on the National Lacrosse League message board...

National Lacrosse League Stories from September 18, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central