NFL, NBA, NHL stats

McNabb Named Team Captain

October 14, 2010 - Western Hockey League (WHL) - Kootenay Ice News Release

Cranbrook, BC - Jeff Chynoweth, General Manger of the Kootenay ICE Hockey Club, today announced the club has named 19-year-old Defenseman Brayden McNabb as Captain of the 2010-2011 team. McNabb becomes the 15th Captain in the history of the ICE franchise. (John Kachur - 1996-1997, Steve McCarthy - 1998-2000, Mike Green - 2000, Mike Comrie - 2000, Dean Arsene - 2000-2001, Jason Jaffray - 2001-2002, Jarret Stoll - 2001-2002, Colin Sinclair - 2002-2003, Nigel Dawes - 2003-2005, Adam Cracknell - 2005-2006, Ryan Russell - 2006-2007, Steve DaSilva - 2007-2008, Andrew Bailey - 2008-2009, Dustin Sylvester - 2009-2010). The Assistant Captains will be Steele Boomer, Matt Fraser and Kevin King.

"We have many players on our club who are leaders both on and off the ice. We feel Brayden best exemplifies what type of player our organization is looking for in a Captain. There are a number of players who could wear letters, but unfortunately only four can wear them in a game. Brayden is going into his fourth season with the club and understands the standard of excellence we strive to accomplish" added Chynoweth.

Next home action for the ICE is Saturday against Regina and Tuesday against Edmonton both at 7:00 pm. Tickets are available at the Kootenay ICE Office.

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from October 14, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.