NFL, MLB, CFL stats

 Women's National Basketball Association

Los Angeles' Nneka Ogwumike Wins 2019 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

September 15, 2019 - Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) News Release

NEW YORK - Los Angeles Sparks forward Nneka Ogwumike has been named the recipient of the 2019 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA announced today.

The Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award is presented each season to a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, including ethical behavior, fair play and integrity. The award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August 1999 after a seven-month battle with cancer.

Ogwumike received seven votes from a national panel of 43 sportswriters and broadcasters. The Connecticut Sun's Jasmine Thomas and the Atlanta Dream's Elizabeth Williams tied for second with six votes each, followed by the Las Vegas Aces' A'ja Wilson with five votes.

Ogwumike will be presented with the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award before the third-seeded Sparks play host to the sixth-seeded Seattle Storm in a second-round, single-elimination playoff game on Sunday, Sept. 15 (3 p.m. ET, ESPN2).

A six-time WNBA All-Star, Ogwumike has spent her entire eight-year career with the Sparks. She averaged team highs of 16.1 points (ninth in the WNBA), 8.8 rebounds (fourth) and 1.88 steals (fifth) in 32 games this season, earning All-Star honors and helping the Sparks finish with a 22-12 record. Ogwumike was selected to the WNBA All-Defensive First Team for the fourth time.

In 2016, Ogwumike was named the WNBA Most Valuable Player and led Los Angeles to the WNBA championship. The former Stanford University standout was the No. 1 overall pick in the 2012 WNBA Draft and earned the WNBA Rookie of the Year Award that same year.

Last year, Ogwumike received the 2018 Seasonlong WNBA Community Assist Award presented by State Farm in recognition of her dedication to community outreach.

Below are the voting results for the 2019 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award and a list of all-time winners.


Player Team Votes

Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks 7

Jasmine Thomas Connecticut Sun 6

Elizabeth Williams Atlanta Dream 6

A'ja Wilson Las Vegas Aces 5

Danielle Robinson Minnesota Lynx 4

LaToya Sanders Washington Mystics 4

Courtney Vandersloot Chicago Sky 3

Candice Dupree Indiana Fever 2

Leilani Mitchell Phoenix Mercury 2

Sami Whitcomb Seattle Storm 2

Chelsea Gray Los Angeles Sparks 1

Tanisha Wright New York Liberty 1


2019 Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks

2018 Sue Bird Seattle Storm

2017 Sue Bird Seattle Storm

2016 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever

2015 DeLisha Milton-Jones Atlanta Dream

2014 Becky Hammon San Antonio Stars

2013 Swin Cash Chicago Sky

Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever

2012 Kara Lawson Connecticut Sun

2011 Sue Bird Seattle Storm

Ruth Riley San Antonio Stars

2010 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever

2009 Kara Lawson Sacramento Monarchs

2008 Vickie Johnson San Antonio Stars

2007 Tully Bevilaqua Indiana Fever

2006 Dawn Staley Houston Comets

2005 Taj McWilliams-Franklin Connecticut Sun

2004 Teresa Edwards Minnesota Lynx

2003 Edna Campbell Sacramento Monarchs

2002 Jennifer Gillom Phoenix Mercury

2001 Sue Wicks New York Liberty

2000 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers

1999 Dawn Staley Charlotte Sting

1998 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers

1997 Haixia Zheng Los Angeles Sparks

• Discuss this story on the Women's National Basketball Association message board...

Women's National Basketball Association Stories from September 15, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central