NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Denver Outlaws Clinch Postseason Berth with 15-12 Win over New York Lizards

September 7, 2019 - Major League Lacrosse (MLL) - Denver Outlaws News Release

DENVER - The Denver Outlaws (9-5) clinched a postseason berth with a 15-12 win over the New York Lizards (4-11) on Saturday night in Hempstead, N.Y. It marks the 13th time in the Outlaws' 14-season existence that the team has qualified for the Major League Lacrosse playoffs.

MLL Championship Weekend will be hosted in Denver this season for the first time in the league's 19-year history. The two semifinals games will be played on Friday, Oct. 4, at the University of Denver's Peter Barton Stadium, and the championship game will be played on Sunday, Oct. 6, at Dick's Sporting Goods Park.

Rookie attackman Ryan Lee (4 goals) and midfielder Mikie Schlosser (3 goals, 1 assist) led the Outlaws on Saturday with four points apiece. Goalie Dillon Ward made 15 saves on 27 shots (55.6%) and faceoff specialist Max Adler won 14-of-29 faceoffs (48.3%). The Outlaws' leading scorer among defenseman this season, rookie Andrew Newbold became the first player in franchise history to score a two-point goal in three consecutive games.

Denver set the tone by starting the game on an 8-0 scoring run that tracked into the second quarter. The Outlaws led 9-2 at halftime, but a second-half resurgence from New York led to a 13-12 contest with five minutes to play in the game. On a pair of highlight-reel goals from Lee and Schlosser, Denver scored the final two tallies of the evening to lock up its spot in the postseason.

The Outlaws, who have two games remaining in the regular season, will be back in action next Saturday at Peter Barton Stadium (3 p.m. MDT faceoff) when they take on the Chesapeake Bayhawks (8-6).

Photos from Saturday's game are available for media use at with the password MLL2019.

Denver Outlaws Year-by-Year Results

Year Record Result

2006* 10-2 Lost Championship

2007* 7-5 Lost Semifinal

2008* 8-4 Lost Championship

2009* 9-3 Lost Championship

2010* 8-4 Lost Semifinal

2011* 7-5 Lost Semifinal

2012* 11-3 Lost Championship

2013* 14-0 Lost Semifinal

2014* 9-5 Won Championship

2015 7-7 Missed Playoffs

2016* 8-6 Won Championship

2017* 9-5 Lost Championship

2018* 8-6 Won Championship

2019* 9-5 TBD

*denotes postseason berth

• Discuss this story on the Major League Lacrosse message board...

Major League Lacrosse Stories from September 7, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Denver Outlaws Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew