NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Davila Named League MVP for AFL Best Third Time

August 25, 2016 - Arena Football League (AFL) - Arizona Rattlers News Release

Phoenix, Ariz. - The Arena Football League (AFL) announced that Arizona Rattlers' quarterback Nick Davila has won the AFL Most Valuable Player (MVP) award. This is his third time winning the award, and the first player in AFL history to have won the award three times. He previously won in 2014 and 2011.

Nick Davila is in his seventh season with the Rattlers, and is looking to lead the Rattlers to their fourth ArenaBowl title in five years. He led the league this season in completion percentage completing almost 70 percent of his passes and in passing touchdowns with 110.

"I want to first and foremost, thank our owner Ron Shurts, for everything he has done that has allowed me to be here today," Davila said. "I also want to thank our Head Coach, Kevin Guy, for putting me in the position to win. Also, I want to thank all my teammates. They are the ones who made this possible. I would also want to say thank you to my wife, Jessica. If it wasn't for her patience and understanding I wouldn't be able to play the game I love."

No other player in league history has won the award three times. The next closest is George LaFrance, who won the award twice, in 1989 and in 1991 with the Detroit Drive.

• Discuss this story on the Arena Football League message board...

Arena Football League Stories from August 25, 2016

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Arizona Rattlers Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central