Brooklyn Cyclones Win Larry MacPhail Award - OurSports Central
Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
Looking for sports stats?

Brooklyn Cyclones Win Larry MacPhail Award

October 27, 2017 - Appalachian League (ApL) - Bluefield Blue Jays News Release

ST. PETERSBURG, Florida - Minor League Baseball announced today that the Brooklyn Cyclones of the Short Season Class-A New York-Penn League are the recipients of the 52nd annual Larry MacPhail Award, symbolizing the top promotional effort in Minor League Baseball.

The award has been presented since 1966 and is named after Hall of Famer Leland Stanford "Larry" MacPhail, Sr., who introduced innovations such as night baseball, airplane travel, pension plans and batting helmets. The Cyclones will receive their award at the Baseball Winter Meetings Banquet on Sunday, Dec. 10, at the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort in Orlando, Florida. The Cyclones are just the second New York-Penn League team to win the award, joining the Lowell Spinners (2000).

"On behalf of the entire Brooklyn Cyclones organization, we would like to thank Minor League Baseball for this prestigious honor," said Cyclones Vice President Steve Cohen. "Our industry is filled with some of the most innovative and creative minds in the world, so to be singled out from the field of so many worthy nominees is truly humbling."

The Cyclones' combination of unique giveaways, theme nights, community programs and television/social media commercials led them to become the first Short Season franchise in history to draw over 200,000 fans for 16 consecutive years and they have led the New York-Penn League in attendance for the last 17 seasons. The Cyclones claimed Minor League Baseball Promotion of the Year honors in 2014 and 2015, and were nominated for a Golden Bobblehead Award (MiLB's top promotional honor) in three separate categories in 2017. Since 2014, their 14 Golden Bobblehead Award nominations are more than any other team in Minor League Baseball.

"We are constantly challenging ourselves as a staff to make MCU Park even more fun and entertaining for our fans," said Cyclones General Manager Kevin Mahoney. "This honor shows all of us that our dedication and attention to detail truly pays off. We are very fortunate to have an incredibly talented front office staff that truly embodies the hard work, loyalty and passion that is synonymous with the people of Brooklyn."

"Year after year, the Brooklyn Cyclones host some of the most creative, entertaining and memorable promotional events in all of Minor League Baseball, events that are appealing to fans of all ages, both locally and across the country," said Minor League Baseball President & CEO Pat O'Conner. "That the Cyclones have been nominated for more promotional awards than any other club over the last four seasons is a testament to their incredibly creative and talented staff, and their use of MCU Park for community and charitable events has been exemplary. On behalf of Minor League Baseball, I commend them on a job well done, not only for themselves, but also for the New York-Penn League and Minor League Baseball as a whole."

PAST LARRY MACPHAIL AWARD WINNERS 1966 Spartanburg, Western Carolinas

1967 Rochester, International 1968 Cocoa, Florida State 1969 Hawaii, Pacific Coast 1970 Wichita, American Association/ Hawaii, PCL (Tie) 1971 Oklahoma City, American Assoc.

1972 San Antonio, Texas 1973 Tucson, Pacific Coast 1974 West Palm Beach, Florida State

1975 Tacoma, Pacific Coast 1976 El Paso, Texas/ Cedar Rapids, Midwest (tie) 1977 Columbus, OH, International 1978 Nashville, Southern 1979 Columbus, OH, International 1980 Nashville, Southern 1981 Nashville, Southern

1982 El Paso, Texas 1983 Arkansas, Texas 1984 Columbus, OH, International/ Billings, Pioneer (Tie) 1985 Richmond, International 1986 Iowa, American Association 1987 Albuquerque, Pacific Coast 1988 Birmingham, Southern 1989 Buffalo, American Association 1990 Richmond, International 1991 Salt Lake City, Pioneer 1992 Ft. Myers, Florida State 1993 El Paso, Texas 1994 Reading, Eastern 1995 Kane County, Midwest 1996 Wilmington, Carolina 1997 Rochester, International 1998 Charleston (SC), South Atlantic

1999 Reading, Eastern 2000 Lowell, New York-Penn 2001 Tennessee, Southern 2002 Lakewood, South Atlantic 2003 Trenton, Eastern 2004 Altoona, Eastern 2005 Brevard County, Florida State 2006 Round Rock, Pacific Coast 2007 West Michigan, Midwest 2008 Ogden, Pioneer 2009 Chattanooga, Southern 2010 New Hampshire, Eastern 2011 Lake Elsinore, California 2012 Wisconsin, Midwest 2013 Charleston, South Atlantic 2014 San Jose, California 2015 Akron, Eastern 2016 Midland, Texas About Minor League Baseball Minor League Baseball, headquartered in St. Petersburg, Florida, is the governing body for all professional baseball teams in the United States, Canada and the Dominican Republic that are affiliated with Major League Baseball ® clubs through their farm systems. Fans are coming out in unprecedented numbers to this one-of-a-kind experience that can only be found at Minor League Baseball ballparks. In 2017, Minor League Baseball attracted 41.8 million fans to its ballparks to see the future stars of the sport hone their skills. From the electricity in the stands to the excitement on the field, Minor League Baseball has provided affordable family-friendly entertainment to people of all ages since its founding in 1901. For more information,

visit Follow Minor League Baseball on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter

• Discuss this story on the Appalachian League message board...

Appalachian League Stories from October 27, 2017

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.