Billy Wagner Named 2023 Paul Keyes RBI Award Recipient

October 25, 2023 - Eastern League (EL) - Richmond Flying Squirrels News Release

RICHMOND, Va. - High school baseball coach and former MLB All-Star Billy Wagner is the recipient the 2023 Paul Keyes RBI Award, the Richmond Flying Squirrels announced on Wednesday.

Wagner will be recognized with the Paul Keyes RBI Award presented by Gail and Dave Clelland as part of the Flying Squirrels' annual Hot Stove charity event on Thursday, November 16 at the Altria Theater in Richmond. Information about the event can be found here.

The Paul Keyes RBI (Richmond Baseball Impact) Award is given annually in memory of the late VCU baseball coach Paul Keyes to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the game of baseball within the Richmond community or from the Richmond community.

"Billy Wagner had a Hall of Fame career as a player," Flying Squirrels senior advisor Todd "Parney" Parnell said. "But what has stood out to me even more is what he has done as a coach since his playing days ended. He really cares about his players and showcases an immeasurable love for the game. Billy is an amazing person and I am happy that he will continue the tradition of excellence with the Paul Keyes RBI Award."

Wagner, a native of Tannersville, Va., has been the head baseball coach at the Miller School of Albemarle since 2013, helping lead the program to multiple state championships.

As a player, Wagner was a seven-time All-Star in his 16-year MLB career with the Houston Astros, Philadelphia Phillies, New York Mets, Boston Red Sox and Atlanta Braves. His 422 career saves are the sixth-most in MLB history. His 1,196 strikeouts are a Major League record for a left-handed reliever. Wagner has been inducted into the Houston Astros Hall of Fame and the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame.

Paul Keyes RBI Award Recipients

2011 - Eddie Kasko

2012 - Johnny Grubb

2013 - Gene Alley

2014 - Tracy Woodson

2015 - Sam Ayoub

2016 - Cla Meredith

2017 - Shawn Stiffler

2018 - Tony Beasley

2019 - Ray Hedrick

2020 - Chris Ray

2022 - Mark Budzinski

2023 - Billy Wagner

The Flying Squirrels' annual Hot Stove raises funds for the initiatives of Flying Squirrels Charities, which focuses on aiding education, athletics and inclusion and overcoming social determinants.

On November 16 at the Altria Theater, Wagner will be presented with the award during the Hot Stove's main program, which will also include a conversation with former MLB All-Star Sean Casey and other guests to be announced at a later date. Tickets start at $35.

• Discuss this story on the Eastern League message board...

Eastern League Stories from October 25, 2023

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central