Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
Looking for sports stats?

Alfonzo McKinnie Named NBA Development League Eastern Conference All-Star

February 14, 2017 - NBA G League (G League) - Windy City Bulls News Release

HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL - The Windy City Bulls, presented by BMO Harris Bank, the NBA Development League Affiliate of the Chicago Bulls, and the NBA Development League, have announced that forward Alfonzo McKinnie has been named an Eastern Conference All-Star replacement. The 2017 NBA D-League All-Star Game, presented by Kumho Tire, tips off on Saturday, Feb.18 at 1:30 p.m. CT from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans.

McKinnie (6'8/215/Green Bay) is averaging 15.1 points and 9.2 rebounds per game in a breakout season with Windy City. The Chicago native has tallied 11 double-doubles on the season after joining the Windy City roster via the team's local tryout last fall.

Jordan Crawford (Grand Rapid Drive) and Axel Toupane (Raptors 905) join McKinnie as replacements on the Eastern Conference team for current NBA players Ray McCallum (Grand Rapids Drive/Charlotte Hornets), Chris McCullough (Long Island Nets/Brooklyn Nets) and Yogi Ferrell (Long Island Nets/Dallas Mavericks).

On the West team, Reggie Williams (Oklahoma City Blue) will replace Pierre Jackson (Texas Legends), who will miss the game as he continues rehabilitation following a left hamstring injury. Jackson will still take part in the Three-Point Contest, which begins at 2 p.m. ET on Saturday and culminates at halftime of the NBA D-League All-Star Game .

Last week it was announced that McKinnie would also be competing in the 2017 NBA D-League Slam Dunk, presented by Verizon. Joining McKinnie in the competition is defending champion John Jordan (Raptors 905), Alex Poythress (Fort Wayne), Troy Williams (Iowa), Derek Cooke Jr. (Northern Arizona), and Trahson Burrell (Long Island).

Current NBA players Langston Galloway (New Orleans), Tim Frazier (New Orleans) and Jonathon Simmons (San Antonio) are three of the five judges for the final round of NBA D-League Slam Dunk Contest presented by Verizon, all of whom have D-League experience. The trio will be joined by Tas Melas and J.E. Skeets of NBA TV's The Starters. The first round of the dunk competition will be judged by NBA players Marquese Chriss (Phoenix), Nikola Jokic (Denver) and Frank Kaminsky (Charlotte) as well as Melas and Skeets.

All four competitors will complete two dunks in the first round, with each judge awarding six to 10 points for each dunk. Dunkers will have 60 seconds to complete each dunk. The two players with the highest composite scores after the first round move on to the second round, where the time limits and scoring system remain the same. The player with the highest composite score for his two dunks in the final round will be crowned the 2017 NBA D-League Slam Dunk champion.

Both two-round competitions tip off during NBA All-Star Practice and culminate during halftime of the 2017 NBA D-League All-Star Game presented by Kumho Tire, which begins at 1:30 p.m. CT. The final round of both the Slam Dunk and the Three-Point Contests will air live on NBA TV during halftime of the NBA D-League All-Star Game. The first round of each event will be streamed live on the NBA D-League's Facebook page, beginning with the Slam Dunk preliminary at 11:30 a.m. CT and continuing with the Three-Point Contest preliminary at 1:00 p.m. CT.


Player (Team) Pos. Ht. Wt. Birthdate College/Country

Anthony Brown (Erie) G 6-7 211 10/10/1992 Stanford/USA

Quinn Cook (Canton) G 6-2 179 3/23/1993 Duke/USA

Jordan Crawford (Grand Rapids) G 6-5 195 10/23/1988 Xavier/USA

Marcus Georges-Hunt (Maine)* F 6-6 220 3/28/1994 Georgia Tech/USA

Jalen Jones (Maine) F 6-7 220 5/27/1993 Texas A&M/USA

Shawn Long (Delaware) C 6-9 248 1/29/1993 Louisiana-Lafayette/USA

Alfonzo McKinnie (Windy City) F 6-8 215 9/17/1992 Wis.-Green Bay/USA

Eric Moreland (Canton) F 6-10 249 12/24/1991 Oregon State/USA

Abdel Nader (Maine) F 6-8 225 9/25/1993 Iowa State/Egypt

Alex Poythress (Fort Wayne) F 6-7 235 9/6/1993 Kentucky/USA

Edy Tavares (Raptors 905) C 7-2 260 3/22/1992 Cape Verde

Axel Toupane (Raptors 905) G 6-7 210 7/23/1992 France

Head Coach: Jerry Stackhouse (Raptors 905)

Assistant Coaches: Donnie Tyndall (Raptors 905), David Gale (Raptors 905), Nathaniel Mitchell (Raptors 905), John Corbacio (Raptors 905), Nicki Gross (Raptors 905)

Athletic Trainer: Giovanni Sardella (Raptors 905)


Player (Team) Pos. Ht. Wt. Birthdate College/Country

Keith Benson (Sioux Falls) C 6-11 235 8/13/1988 Oakland/USA

Vander Blue (Los Angeles) G 6-4 200 7/17/1992 Marquette/USA

Dennis Clifford (Santa Cruz) C 7-1 260 2/29/1992 Boston College/USA

Justin Harper (Los Angeles) F 6-10 225 8/30/1989 Richmond/USA

Cory Jefferson (Austin) F 6-9 218 12/26/1990 Baylor/USA

Dakari Johnson (Oklahoma City) C 7-0 255 9/22/1995 Kentucky/USA

Josh Magette (Los Angeles) G 6-1 160 11/28/1989 Alabama-Huntsville/USA

Johnny O'Bryant III (Northern Arizona)* F 6-9 257 6/1/1993 Louisiana State/USA

JaKarr Sampson (Iowa) F 6-9 207 3/20/1993 St. John's/USA

Briante Weber (Sioux Falls)* G 6-2 165 12/29/1992 Va. Commonwealth/USA

Okaro White (Sioux Falls) * F 6-8 215 8/13/1992 Florida State/USA

Reggie Williams (Oklahoma City) F 6-6 210 9/14/1986 Virginia Military/USA

Head Coach: Coby Karl (Los Angeles)

Assistant Coaches: Paul Woolpert (Los Angeles), Brian Walsh (Los Angeles), Isaiah Fox (Los Angeles)

Athletic Trainer: Heather Mau (Los Angeles)

* - Indicates a player currently in the NBA

Bold indicates a replacement player

• Discuss this story on the NBA G League message board...

NBA G League Stories from February 14, 2017

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.