NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Winnipeg ICE Announce Leadership Group for 2019-2020 Season

September 18, 2019 - Western Hockey League (WHL) - Winnipeg Ice News Release

Winnipeg, MB - The Winnipeg ICE Hockey Club announced on Wednesday the leadership group for the 2019-2020 season.

Joining Captain Peyton Krebs will be 2002-born forward Connor McClennon, 2001-born forward Jakin Smallwood and 1999-born defenceman Chase Hartje, all of whom will be assistant captains this season.

Peyton Krebs, from Okotoks, Alberta, was named the team's 23rd captain in franchise history in December 2018. Krebs is a first round draft pick of the NHL's Vegas Golden Knights, and was a first overall pick of the ICE in 2016.

The ICE selected Connor McClennon second overall in the 2017 WHL Bantam Draft. The Wainwright, Alberta native played his rookie season during the 2018-2019 campaign, and was a member of Team Canada at the 2019 Hlinka Gretzky Cup.

Jakin Smallwood was acquired by the ICE during the 2017-2018 season. The Leduc, Alberta native enters his second season in the WHL.

Chase Hartje was acquired by the ICE in early January 2019. The Bemidji, Minnesota native is entering his third season in the WHL.

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from September 18, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.