NFL, MLB, CFL stats


Top performers earn all-af2 recognition

August 15, 2005 - arenafootball2 (af2) News Release

CHICAGO - The Memphis Xplorers, who host the Rio Grande Valley Dorados in the National Conference Championship game on Friday, August 19 at 8:30 p.m. ET, landed a league best five players on the All-af2 First and Second Teams, the league office announced today. Overall, players from 18 of the league's 20 teams were selected to either the American or National Conference All-af2 First and Second Teams as voted on by the league's head coaches and beat writers.

The Xplorers First Team selections included lineman KHREEM SMITH and defensive specialist DAHNEL SINGFIELD. Offensive specialist KEVIN PRENTISS, wide receiver/defensive back TERRELL ADAMS and lineman JOSEPH CREAR earned Second Team honors.

The Florida Firecats, Louisville Fire, Manchester Wolves and Rio Grande Valley Dorados each had four players named to First and Second Teams. No team had more than two players named to the First Team of either conference.

Two players on this year's All-af2 Teams have been selected for the third time in their careers. Louisville quarterback MATT SAUK earned First Team honors for the first time this season. He was named to the All-af2 Second Team in 2001 and 2003 with Tennessee Valley. Oklahoma City wide receiver/linebacker AL HUNT made All-af2 for the third straight season. He was named to National Conference All-af2 Second Team in 2003 with the Tulsa Talons, and he garnered a First Team mention last season with Oklahoma City.

Several other players are on the All-af2 Teams for the second straight season. They include: South Georgia's ADRIAN COCKFIELD, Florida's STEVE GORRIE, Quad City's MATT FORBES and Memphis' JOSEPH CREAR, KEVIN PRENTISS and DAHNEL SINGFIELD.

Following is the complete list of the 2005 American and National Conference All-af2 First and Second Teams:


Position First Team Second Team

QB Matt Sauk - Louisville Jake Eaton - Manchester

OS Jeremiah Pope - Albany Chris Johnson - Macon

WR/LB J.J. McKelvey - Manchester Rocco Forgione - W-B/Scranton

WR/DB Matt Jackson - Macon Adrian Cockfield - South Georgia

FB/LB Steve Gorrie - Florida Demetrius Forney - Louisville

OL/DL Joe Peters - Green Bay Comone Fisher - Florida

OL/DL Jim Sodano - W-B/Scranton Andrew Tippins - Louisville

OL/DL C.J. McLain - Arkansas Greg Walls - Florida

DS William Haith - Manchester Jamie Hattley - W-B/Scranton

DS Ryan Bowers - Green Bay Allistair Sebastien - Manchester

K Danny Kight - Louisville Brandon Kornblue - Florida

ST Jeff Higgins - Albany Brent Holmes - Green Bay


Position First Team Second Team

QB Julian Reese - Amarillo Juston Wood - Central Valley

OS Donovan Morgan - Tulsa Kevin Prentiss - Memphis

WR/LB George Williams - Central Valley Al Hunt - Oklahoma City

WR/DB Marquis Floyd - Rio Grande Valley Terrell Adams - Memphis

FB/LB Chris Robinson - Rio Grande Valley Nick Onaindia - Bakersfield

OL/DL Khreem Smith - Memphis Shawn King - Bakersfield

OL/DL Joe Massey - Amarillo Joseph Crear - Memphis

OL/DL Asi Faoa - San Diego Gathan McGinnis - Rio Grande Valley

DS Dahnel Singfield - Memphis Matt Forbes - Quad City

DS Chris Canty - Tulsa Alex Wallace - Bakersfield

K John Gockman - Central Valley Eric Houle - Rio Grande Valley

ST Jarrail Jackson - Oklahoma City Steve Gonzalez - San Diego

• Discuss this story on the arenafootball2 message board...

arenafootball2 Stories from August 15, 2005

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central