NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Mark Lewis Named AFL Kicker Of The Year For 2007

July 2, 2007 - Arena Football League (1987-2008) (AFL I) - Austin Wranglers News Release

AUSTIN-The Austin Wranglers in conjunction with the Arena Football League announce that Mark Lewis has been named the AFL's Kicker of the Year for his performance during the 2007 season. Last week, the AFL announced that Lewis was selected as the league's First Team All-Arena kicker.

Lewis (5-11, 200, Florida International), who was chosen as AFL's Kicker of the Month for March, made a smooth transition to Austin, contributing field goals in 11 of 16 games for the Wranglers. Most notably, Lewis was successful on 110 of 118 extra points, putting together a string of 48 consecutive made extra points stemming from Austin's Week 5 meeting in Dallas (3/31/07) to their Week 13 game against Philadelphia (5/27/07).

Entering the season as the AFL's All-Time leader in field goal percentage (58.8%), Lewis was good on 15 of 25 field goals (long of 33), making 60% of his attempts. He finished the season with 155 points, which was second amongst AFL kickers. He also added 33 touchbacks, which ranked sixth in the league.

"This is a well-deserved honor for Lewis," said Wranglers Head Coach Brian Partlow. "We feel he gave us an advantage the whole season, particularly with his extra points and on-side kicks. He was as consistent as any kicker this season and we are happy he was rewarded for his efforts."

AFL Kicker of the Year is voted on by AFL head coaches, players, fans and the Arena Football League Writers Association (AFLWA).

Previous recipients of the AFL Kicker of the Year award include:



2007 Mark Lewis Austin Wranglers

2006 Remy Hamilton Los Angeles Avengers

2005 Remy Hamilton Los Angeles Avengers

2004 Jay Taylor Orlando Predators

2003 Clay Rush Indiana Firebirds

2002 Steve Videtich New Jersey Gladiators

2001 Brian Gowins Grand Rapids Rampage

2000 Clay Rush Iowa Barnstormers

1999 Mike Black New England SeaWolves

1998 Kenny Stucker Milwaukee Mustangs

1997 Steve Videtich New Jersey Red Dogs

1996 Pete Elezovic Albany Firebirds

1991 Rusty Fricke Denver Dynamite

1990 Novo Bojovic Detroit Drive

* No award issued from 1992-95.

• Discuss this story on the Arena Football League (1987-2008) message board...

Arena Football League (1987-2008) Stories from July 2, 2007

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Austin Wranglers Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew