NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Lone Star Arena Football Classic teams selected

February 5, 2007 - Arena Football League (1987-2008) (AFL I) - Austin Wranglers News Release

AUSTIN-The Austin Wranglers Foundation is pleased to announce the 2007 Lone Star Arena Football Classic North and South All-Star teams. Patrolling the sideline for the North will be Westwood High School Head Coach Anthony Wood and coaching the South will be Lake Travis High School Head Coach Jeff Dicus. The selection process consisted of 52 Central Texas high schools submitting nominations of their graduating senior football players.

Joining the coaches in the selection were television sports directors Mike Barnes (KVUE), Dave Cody (KTBC) and Jeff Power (News8Austin). In addition, Craig Way (AM 1300 The Zone), Hardee McCrary (Longhorn Foundation), Doug MacGregor (Wranglers Team President), Glyn Milburn (Wranglers General Manager) and Aaron Humphrey (Wranglers Player) assisted in the process.

Representing the North All-Stars are 32 players including All-CenTex wide receiver Bryce Vernon (Westwood), All-State kicker Justin Putnam (Westwood), All-State linebacker Justin Allen (Cedar Park) and District 14-5A Lineman of the Year Jake Marrow (Cedar Park).

Notables on the South All-Star team of 33 players include District 25-5A MVP linebacker Marcus Richardson (Seguin), two-time All-District defensive lineman Eddie DeCambre (Austin), All-State center Zach Lambert (Hays) and All-County linebacker/All-District kicker Tyler Krug (Canyon).

All tickets to the game are general admission for $10 and can be purchased at Capital Area high schools, by telephone at 512.339.3939 and at the Wranglers Box Office located at 2209 W. Braker Lane. Each ticket is also a voucher for terrace level seating for the Austin Wranglers home opener on Sunday, March 4 at 3 p.m. when the Wranglers host the Las Vegas Gladiators. Vouchers can be redeemed by calling the Wranglers Box Office at 512.339.3939.

Proceeds from the Lone Star Arena Football Classic will be donated to the Austin Wranglers Foundation for purchase of Automated External Defibrillators (AED) for the Capital Area schools that are in need of defibrillators.

All players and coaches will keep their jerseys and apparel to represent their accomplishments throughout their high school football careers. The winner of the North-South match-up will receive a commemorative trophy and a most valuable player will be selected.

The complete roster for both teams is below and can also be found on the Austin Wranglers Official Website

North All-Star Team South All-Star Team Head Coach: Anthony Wood (Westwood) Head Coach: Jeff Dicus (Lake Travis)

Position Name School Position Name School

OL Alex Holk Burnett QB Cameron Jones Austin

QB Travis Watson Cedar Park DL Eddie DeCambre Austin

FB Justin Allen Cedar Park DL Demitris Herron Austin

TB Tyler Smith Cedar Park TB Dentrey Washington Bastrop

C Derek Rain Cedar Park DL Bubba Evans Bastrop

OL(TE) Jake Marrow Cedar Park OL John McDaniel Bowie

DL Andrew Baughman Cedar Park DB Eric Bishop Bowie

WR Prizzell Brown Connally DB Dallas Figol Canyon

LB(Mack) Zach Petit Connally K Tyler Krug Canyon

OL Nick Elliott Elgin LB(Jack) Adam Cantwell Del Valle

DB Donovan Collins Elgin OL Zach Lambert Hays

OL Cody Ward Florence LB(Jack) Michael Yanez Hays

DL Joseph Freshour Georgetown DB Shane DeSantiago Hays

LB(Jack) Dylan Martinez Hutto DB Julius Koger Johnston

DB Ram Rodriguez Leander WR Aerttrail Robinson Johnson

DL Ryan Douglas Leander FB Austin Wrinkle Lake Travis

DL Alan Jones Manor WR Hunter Armstrong Lake Travis

QB Chase Markette McNeil DL Tyler Williams Lake Travis

OL Bryce Tennison McNeil LB(Mack) Bryce Bird Lake Travis

FB(OL/DL) Adam Cortez Pflugerville TB Marcus Mann McCallum

WR Jimmie Anderson Round Rock OL Evan Woody McCallum

DL Kennedy Ezimako Stony Point DB Jared Alexander McCallum

DB Trevin Wade Stony Point K Paul Tearson McCallum

DB Robert Akins Taylor C Marcus Sanchez New Braunfels

TB Cory Schuler Vista Ridge WR Desmon Jackson Seguin

WR Brandon Thompson Vista Ridge WR Calvin Caad Seguin

WR Bryce Vernon Westwood DL Logan Johnson Seguin

WR Bryan Murphy Westwood LB(Mack) Marcus Richardson Seguin

C Scott Lacey Westwood FB Jose (Chema) Dominech St. Stephens

LB(Mack) Richard Havins Westwood C Nevin Watkins St. Stephens

DB Mason Taylor Westwood TE(WR) Stephen Shaffer Westlake

K Justin Putnam Westwood OL Dusty Davidson Westlake

QB Will Mezger Lampasas (N)


Austin Wranglers Foundation Mission Statement - To collaborate with existing non-profits to build better communities through activities that engage Central Texas youth to achieve success through education, physical activity and developing high moral standards. For more information, please visit

• Discuss this story on the Arena Football League (1987-2008) message board...

Arena Football League (1987-2008) Stories from February 5, 2007

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Austin Wranglers Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew