NFL, NBA, NHL stats

IFL Announces 2009 Individual Awards

July 13, 2009 - Indoor Football League (IFL) News Release

Richmond, VA: Indoor Football League fans flooded the last three weeks in overwhelming numbers to vote for their choice for the 2009 Most Valuable Player of the Year award. And in a close race, the winner is Billings Outlaws Quarterback Chris Dixon. Dixon edged out Fairbanks Wide Receiver Lonnie Sanders and Wichita Running back Darius Fudge to claim the league's highest honor. The Outlaws signal caller has been dominant all season, leading his team to a 12-2 regular season record and home field advantage throughout the playoffs. In fourteen games this year, Dixon threw for 69 touchdown passes, versus only 7 interceptions, while running for 12 more scores. He also threw for over 2,500 yards, averaging almost 180 via the air per game. In addition to the Fan's Choice award, the four-time Player of the Week also takes home the Offensive Player of the Year award.

El Paso Generals Head Coach Brian Brents was announced as the IFL Coach of the Year. Brents took the Generals from their infancy to a Division Champion in just their first year of play. He led the expansion franchise to a 12-2 record with an aerial assault mentality on offense and a rush the Quarterback strategy on defense. Under his command, the Generals were the top ranked passing offense, and were second in points per game.

The IFL continued to announce individual player awards today. The following players were honored for their play on the field this season:


KR Demarcus James-Alaska Wild

The human joystick that is Demarcus James took the IFL by storm this season, setting records on special teams that figure to be standing for a long time to come. James returned nine kickoffs for touchdowns this season while also playing on defense and occasionally offense for his Wild team. He was also among the league leaders in All-Purpose yards this year averaging over 131 per game, and was tops in yards per kick return with 21.2.


DB Michael Landry-Billings Outlaws

Not only did Landry light up the stats sheet this year, he was also among the teams leaders. He led an Outlaws defensive unit that allowed less then 33 points per game. Playing in just eleven of his teams fourteen games, the defensive lineman had 48 tackles, 12 sacks, 16.5 tackles-for-loss, 6 forced fumbles, 2 fumble recoveries, and recorded one safety.


RB Darius Fudge-Wichita Wild

It's not often that a player can come directly from playing the outdoor game his entire life to being the best in the league at his given position. But Darius Fudge did just that. The Wild Running back ran for a league high 936 yards and scored 30 touchdowns on the ground. He became only the sixth player in Indoor Football history to rush for over 900 yards and score 30 touchdowns in a season. His average of 67 yards rushing per game were also best in the league.


DB Michael Eby-Billings Outlaws

The perfect compliment to a strong defensive line are defensive backs that don't allow receivers to get open. All season, Eby was that type of player. In his first year of professional football, he regularly had his name in the stat sheets. The Outlaw defensive back finished second in the league with ten interceptions this season to go along with 73 total tackles and 5 pass breakups. His average of more then four tackles per game ranked him among the top in the league.

The league intends to announce the winners of team awards tomorrow, July 14th. Reminder to fans that the first ever IFL playoffs start this Saturday with San Angelo traveling to Abilene and Wichita heading to Bloomington. Both are set for 7 PM kickoffs. Follow all the action at and on the B2 broadcasts of each game all season long.

For more information on these or any league topics, visit or contact the IFL league office @ 804-643-PASS (7277).

• Discuss this story on the Indoor Football League message board...

Indoor Football League Stories from July 13, 2009

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew