NFL, NBA, NHL stats



Flying Squirrels Celebrate Former Players, Past Promotions with 10th Season Promo Schedule

February 25, 2019 - Eastern League (EL) - Richmond Flying Squirrels News Release

FUNNVILLE - The Richmond Flying Squirrels released an exciting lineup of promotions for the upcoming 2019 season, part of a year-long celebration of the 10th season of Flying Squirrels baseball. As a nod to the first decade of Flying Squirrels baseball on the Boulevard, the schedule includes promotions with a nod to 10 memorable former Flying Squirrels players and 10 memorable past Flying Squirrels promotions.

The full promotional schedule can be found here. Individual-game tickets for the 2019 season will go on sale in person at Nutzy's Block Party on March 2 at 10 a.m. at The Diamond. Tickets can be purchased online beginning at 11 a.m.

"Creative promotions and all-around FUNN is what we have become known for the last nine years at The Diamond and Year 10 will be all that and much more," Flying Squirrels VP & COO Todd "Parney" Parnell said. "We are so excited about the great lineup of promotions that will help hundreds of thousands of fans make memories this summer."

10 MEMORABLE FORMER PLAYERS

With the celebration of the Flying Squirrels' 10th season, the team is recognizing 10 memorable players from the franchise's first decade with a series of giveaways.

Mon., April 22: Brandon Crawford Hat Hair Giveaway (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Off Leash

Tues., May 7 - Chris Shaw #Shawsome T-shirt Giveaway (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Wed., May 22 - Charlie Culberson Bobblehair Giveaway (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Enterprise

Sun., June 16 - Adam Duvall Mini-Bat Giveaway (1,000 fans 14 & younger) presented by Kings Dominion

Tues., June 25 - Hunter Strickland Patriotic T-shirt Giveaway (1,500 fans 15 & older) presented by Pepsi

Sun., July 7 - Brandon Belt Giraffe Hat Giveaway (1,000 fans 14 & younger) presented by Community Idea Stations

Sat., July 20 - Steven Duggar "Duggarnaut" Bobblehead Giveaway (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Mason-McDuffie Mortgage Corp.

Tues., July 23 - Matt Duffy "Duffman" Tank Top Giveaway (1,500 fans 21 & older) presented by Bud Light

Tues., July 30 - Joe Panik "Panik Button" T-shirt Giveaway (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Sun., Sept. 1 - Kelby Tomlinson Specs Giveaway (1,000 fans 14 & younger)

10 MEMBORABLE PAST PROMOTIONS

The Flying Squirrels have earned a reputation for bringing fans entertaining and exciting promotions over the last decade. This year, they are reprising 10 memorable giveaways, appearances and events from the last 10 years.

Thurs., May 2 - Gently Used Car Giveaway

Thurs., May 30 - Human Cannonball Appearance

Fri., June 14 - Legends of Wrestling featuring Jeff Jarrett

Fri., July 5 - Gatorland Appearance

Mon., July 22 - Richmond Hushpuppies Night & jersey auction

Fri., Aug. 9 - Legends of Wrestling featuring Konnan

Sun., August 11 - Miniature Horse Bobblehead Giveaway (1,000 fans 14 & younger)

Tues., August 20 - Zinger T-shirt Giveaway (1,500 fans 15 & older) presented by Seredni Tire

Fri., August 30 - Mini Wrestling

Sat., August 31 - Lifesize Nutzy Garden Gnome Giveaway

BOBBLEHEADS

This season, the Flying Squirrels match a franchise record with FIVE bobblehead giveaways!

Wed., May 22 - Charlie Culberson Bobblehair (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Enterprise

Wed., May 29 - Patrick Henry Bobblehead (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Bojangles'

Sat., July 20 - Steven Duggar "Duggarnaut" Bobblehead (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Mason-McDuffie Mortgage Corp.

Sun., August 11 - Miniature Horse Bobblehead (1,000 fans 14 & younger)

Fri., August 16 - Copa de la Diversión Lucha Nutzy Bobblehead (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Mountain Dew

FIREWORKS

This season, the Flying Squirrels will host 23 fireworks shows, including every Thursday and Saturday home game.

Thurs., April 4 - Opening Night LIT! Dueling Fireworks presented by Chick-fil-A & Virginia Birth Father Registry

Sat., April 6 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Caturday Festival

Thurs., April 18 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Multi-Cultural Night

Sat., April 20 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & VCU Night

Thurs., May 2 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Gently Used Car Giveaway

Sat., May 4 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Star Wars Night

Thurs., May 16 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Joe T Emoji Towel Giveaway

Sat., May 18 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Faith Night No. 1 presented by Markel

Thurs., May 23 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Dance Night

Thurs., May 30 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Human Cannonball Launch

Thurs., June 13 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Grateful Fans Night

Sat., June 15 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & ASK Foundation Night presented by Anthem

Thurs., June 27 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Pride Night

Sat., June 29 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Military Appreciation Night presented by Movement Mortgage

Thurs., July 4- Independence Day Dueling Fireworks presented by Chick-fil-A & Virginia Birth Father Registry

Sat., July 6 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Party Like It's 1999 presented by Mr. Rooter

Thurs., July 18 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Virginia Tech Night featuring Andre Davis

Sat., July 20 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Lunar Landing Night presented by Mason-McDuffie Mortgage Corp.

Thurs., August 1 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Faith Night No. 2 presented by Puritan Cleaners

Sat., August 10 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Pop Sensations Night

Sat., August 17 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Squirrelstock presented by Alzheimer's Association of Greater Richmond

Sat., August 31 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Lifesize Nutzy Gnome Giveaway

Sun., September 1 - In-Your-Face Fireworks & Wizarding Night

T-SHIRT TUESDAY GIVEAWAYS

New for 2019, the Flying Squirrels' popular T-shirt giveaway series moves from Fridays to Tuesdays.

Tues., April 9 - Salute to Running T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Tues., April 23 - Race Car Driver T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Tues., May 7 - Chris Shaw #Shawsome T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Tues., May 21 - Salute to Sinatra Tuxedo T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Tues., May 28 - 10th Season Camo T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older) presented by Virginia Birth Father Registry

Tues., June 11 - Dodgeball Tribute T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Tues., June 25 - Hunter Strickland Patriotic T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older) presented by Pepsi

Tues., July 23 - Matt Duffy "Duffman" Tank Top (1,500 fans 21 & older) presented by Bud Light

Tues., July 30 - Joe Panik "Panik Button" T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Tues., August 20 - Zinger T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older) presented by Seredni Tire

APPEARANCES

Thurs., April 4 - Ryan Klesko (Opening Night Celebration)

Fri., April 5 - Blue Demon Jr. (Copa de la Diversión)

Sun., May 19 - Paw Patrol (Nickelodeon Day)

Thurs., May 30 - Human Cannonball

Fri., June 14 - Jeff Jarrett (Copa de la Diversión Legends of Wrestling)

Wed., June 26 - Live Camel (Arabian Nights)

Fri., July 5 - Gatorland

Sun., July 7 - Nature Cat

Thurs., July 18 - Andre Davis (Virginia Tech Night)

Sun., July 21 - The Amazing Tyler (Kids Don't Try This at Home)

Fri., August 9 - Konnan (Copa de la Diversión Legends of Wrestling)

Fri., August 30 - Mini Wrestling

ALL GIVEAWAYS

Sun., April 7 - 10th Anniversary Fleece Blanket (1,000 fans all ages) presented by Pepsi

Tues., April 9 - Salute to Running T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Fri., April 19 - Copa de la Diversión Luchador Mask (1,000 fans 15 & older)

Mon., April 22 - Brandon Crawford Hat Hair (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Off Leash

Tues., April 23 - Race Car Driver T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Fri., May 3 - Wrestling Wristbands (1,000 fans 14 & younger) presented by Capital One

Sun., May 5 - 10th Season Youth Jersey (1,000 fans 14 & younger) presented by Children's Hospital of Richmond at VCU

Mon., May 6 - 10th Season Umbrella (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Elephant Insurance

Tues., May 7 - Chris Shaw #Shawsome T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Thurs., May 16 - Joe T Emoji Towel Giveaway (1,000 fans 15 & older)

Fri., May 17 - Copa de la Diversión Wrestling Cape (1,000 fans 14 & younger) presented by Richmond Times-Dispatch

Tues., May 21 - Salute to Sinatra Tuxedo T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & under)

Wed., May 22 - Charlie Culberson Bobblehair (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Enterprise

Tues., May 28 - 10th Season Camo T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older) presented by Virginia Birth Father Registry

Wed., May 29 - Patrick Henry Bobblehead (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Bojangles'

Tues., June 11 - Dodgeball Tribute T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Wed., June 12 - The Fan Fanny Pack (1,000 fans 15 & older)

Sun., June 16 - Adam Duvall Mini-Bat (1,000 fans 14 & younger) presented by Kings Dominion

Mon., June 24 - Scott's Addition Stein (1,000 fans 21 & older) presented by Daybreak IT Solutions

Tues., June 25 - Hunter Strickland Patriotic T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older) presented by Pepsi

Fri., June 28 - Copa de la Diversión Soccer Scarf (1,000 fans 21 & older) presented by Budweiser

Sun., July 7 - Brandon Belt Giraffe Hat (1,000 fans 14 & younger) presented by Community Idea Stations

Fri., July 19 - Copa de la Diversión Wrestling Socks (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Mountain Dew

Sat., July 20 - Steven Duggar "Duggarnaut" Bobblehead (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Mason-McDuffie Mortgage Corp.

Tues. July 23 - Matt Duffy "Duffman" Tank Top (1,500 fans 21 & older) presented by Bud Light

Tues., July 30 - Joe Panik "Panik Button" T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older)

Sun., August 11 - Miniature Horse Bobblehead (1,000 fans 14 & younger)

Fri., August 16 - Copa de la Diversión Lucha Nutzy Bobblehead (1,000 fans 15 & older) presented by Mountain Dew

Sun., August 18 - 8-Bit Squirrels Youth T-shirt (1,000 fans 14 & younger)

Tues., August 20 - Zinger T-shirt (1,500 fans 15 & older) presented by Seredni Tire

Sun., September 1 - Kelby Tomlinson Specs (1,000 fans 14 & younger)

The full 2019 promotional schedule can be found here.

Individual-game tickets for all 2019 home games will go on sale in person at Nutzy's Block Party on Saturday, March 2 at 10 a.m. Online ticket sales will begin on March 2 at 11 a.m. The 2019 season begins Thursday, April 4 at The Diamond, with a special appearance by former MLB All-Star Ryan Klesko. For more information, visit squirrelsbaseball.com or call (804) 359-FUNN (3866).


• Discuss this story on the Eastern League message board...

Eastern League Stories from February 25, 2019


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Richmond Flying Squirrels Stories



Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew