NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Cam Hillis Named Storm Captain

June 25, 2019 - Ontario Hockey League (OHL) - Guelph Storm News Release

General Manager and Head Coach George Burnett has announced that Cam Hillis has been named team captain for the 2019-20 season, making him the 29th captain in franchise history.

"Cam is the natural choice to lead our program moving forward," said Burnett. "Despite all of the adversity he faced, enduring and rehabbing from three major injuries during this past season, Cam contributed significantly to our leadership group and provided tremendous inspiration to our team throughout the season and playoff run."

Hillis is entering his third season with the Storm after being drafted by the club in the 2nd round of the 2016 OHL Priority Selection. In 93 games with the Storm, he has collected 81 points. In his rookie season, the Enniskillen native recorded 59 points in 60 games and won the club's rookie of the year award. Hillis played just 33 games during his sophomore season due to injury.

"Cam's commitment to improve each day both on and off the ice, combined with his desire to lead and set the example within our community make him a most deserving choice to lead the Storm hockey club," Burnett said.

Off the ice, Hillis has played a huge role in the Storm's community work the past two seasons, being an active participant in the team's Read to Succeed and STEM programs at schools throughout Guelph and Wellington County. In addition to his community work in Guelph, Cam is also a huge supporter of former Captain Garrett McFadden's Mcfadden's Movement, a program to support mental health, and was named an Ambassador of the program last fall.

"It is a huge honour to be named captain of the Storm," Hillis said. There have been a lot of great leaders to pass through this organization and I'm thankful to now be apart of that history. It has been a goal of mine since my early time in Guelph and I'm grateful to have been alongside many great leaders in the past."

The 19-year old was selected by the Montreal Canadiens in the third round of the 2018 NHL Entry Draft.

"I'm looking forward to leading a young team and I have high expectations for our group next year," the Storm captain said.

All time Storm Captains

1991- 92?Todd Gleason/Alec Stojanov

1992-93?Alec Stojanov/Jeff Bes

1993-94?Sylvain Cloutier

1994-95 Regan Stocco/Jamie Wright (in captain's absence)

1995-96 Regan Stocco/Jamie Wright (in captain's absence)

1996-97 Todd Norman (co-captain)/Chris Hajt (co-captain)

1997-98 Chris Hajt/Jason Jackman (in captain's absence)

1998-99 Darryl McArthur

1999-2000 Kent McDonell/Eric Beaudoin (in captain's absence)

2000-01 Morgan McCormick (co-captain)/Charlie Stephens (co-captain)

2001-02 Kevin Dallman (co-captain)/Morgan McCormick (co-captain)

2002-03 Andrew Archer

2003-04 Martin St. Pierre (co-captain)/Niko Tuomi (co-captain)

2004-06 Ryan Callahan

2006-07 Ryan Parent

2007-08 Rafael Rotter

2008-10 Matt Kennedy

2009-10 Corey Syvret

2010-11 Tyler Carroll/Michael Latta/Taylor Beck

2011-12 N/A

2012-13 Matt Finn

2013-14 Matt Finn

2014-15 Jason Dickinson

2015-16 C.J. Garcia

2016-17 Garrett McFadden

2017-18 Garrett McFadden

2018-19 Isaac Ratcliffe

2019-20 Cam Hillis

The 2019-20 season is presented by RBC Play Hockey.

• Discuss this story on the Ontario Hockey League message board...

Ontario Hockey League Stories from June 25, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Guelph Storm Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central