NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Alexander, Hawkins Earn First-Team All-Arena Honors

June 28, 2007 - Arena Football League (1987-2008) (AFL I) - Nashville Kats News Release

NEW YORK- As announced by the Arena Football League today, exceptional 2007 seasons by third-year fullback Dan Alexander and first-year Kat Ahmad Hawkins, have landed the duo on the AFL ALL-Arena First Team.

The feat continued a trend of Kats earning individual league-honors, dating back to the team's inception in 1997 of having a player on either the first or second-team All-Arena squad.

Alexander, who was named to the All-Rookie team in 2005, had his best season of his young career, benefiting tremendously from the newly-instituted free substitution rules. In 2007, Alexander finished as the league's leading rusher with 165 carries for 426 yards and 41 touchdowns. The 165 rushes set a new AFL-record as did the 41 touchdowns while the 426 yards made Alexander only the third player in league annals to eclipse 400 rushing yards in a single season. Alexander also set a new AFL record in Week 8 when he rushed for six touchdowns.

Hawkins, who completed his fifth season in the AFL, joined the Kats in Week 2 of 2007 after spending the previous four seasons with division-rival Colorado Crush where he was a standout two-way player. Hawkins enjoyed a spectacular 2007 where he intercepted an AFL-tying record 13 interceptions, which set also set a new Kats record and was three away from the Kats career lead. What is so impressive about Hawkins' interceptions is that out of the 13 picks; he returned two for touchdowns, nine resulted in offensive touchdowns and one in a successful field goal.



Quarterback Chris Greisen Georgia

Fullback Dan Alexander Nashville

Center Kyle Moore-Brown Colorado

Offensive Lineman Phil Bogle Philadelphia

Offensive Lineman Devin Wyman Dallas

Wide Receiver Chris Jackson Georgia

Wide Receiver Bobby Sippio Chicago

Wide Receiver Siaha Burley Utah

Defensive Lineman Greg White Orlando

Defensive Lineman Colston Weatherington Dallas

Defensive Lineman LaKendrick Jones Columbus

Mack Linebacker Duke Pettijohn Dallas

Jack Linebacker DeJuan Alfonzo Chicago

Defensive Back Eddie Moten Philadelphia

Defensive Back Ahmad Hawkins Nashville

Defensive Back Clevan Thomas San Jose

Kicker Mark Lewis Austin



Quarterback Clint Dolezel Dallas

Fullback Josh White Dallas

Center Mike Mabry Philadelphia

Offensive Lineman Marcus Keys Georgia

Offensive Lineman Terrance Dotsy Dallas

Wide Receiver Damian Harrell Colorado

Wide Receiver Troy Bergeron Georgia

Wide Receiver James Roe San Jose

Defensive Lineman Jermaine Smith Georgia

Defensive Lineman Ron Jones San Jose

Defensive Lineman Silas Demary Los Angeles

Mack Linebacker Umar Muhammad Georgia

Jack Linebacker Lawrence Samuels Tampa Bay

Defensive Back Rashad Floyd Colorado

Defensive Back Jeremy Unertl Chicago

Defensive Back Jermaine Jones Dallas

Kicker A.J. Haglund San Jose

• Discuss this story on the Arena Football League (1987-2008) message board...

Arena Football League (1987-2008) Stories from June 28, 2007

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Nashville Kats Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew