NFL, NBA, NHL stats



2019 Promotional Schedule Announced

February 28, 2019 - South Atlantic League (SAL) - West Virginia Power News Release

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - The West Virginia Power, the Low A South Atlantic League affiliate of the Seattle Mariners, is excited to unveil its 2019 promotional schedule, littered with fireworks shows, special giveaways, a summer concert series, the return of many fan favorite weekly promotions and the South Atlantic League All-Star Game for the first time since 2009.

Single-game tickets will go on sale March 8 at 7:00 a.m. during the Power's Dime for Degree ticket release special. The Dime for Degree price will be announced that morning on WCHS with Power broadcaster David Kahn and WCHS Meteorologist Nick Patrick. Tickets will be available online throughout that weekend, though the Dime for Degree price is only applicable on Friday, while the Power box office will begin selling single-game tickets Monday, March 18 at 10:30 a.m.

All of the Power's weekly promotions are set to return in 2019, including six Pets in the Park nights, eight Family Buck Nights, nine Two for Tuesdays and 10 Thirsty Thursdays, presented by Rock 105, 11 Kid's Sunday Fundays, 12 postgame fireworks shows with a variety of sponsors and 13 giveaways.

GetGoWV will coordinate the aforementioned summer concert series, bringing in up-and-coming talent from around West Virginia to showcase their skills at Appalachian Power Park after a handful of games, mainly on Saturdays. More details on this concert series will be announced at a later date.

The 15th season of Power baseball at Appalachian Power Park begins April 11 against the Augusta GreenJackets, with an Opening Night piled to the brim with promotions. Prior to the game's 7:05 p.m. first pitch, fans can enjoy an Opening Night parade, presented by LM Communications, while the first 1,000 patrons through the gates will receive a 2019 magnet schedule. During the game, fans can take advantage of our new Thirsty Thursday pricing, with $2.00 domestic cans and 20-ounce beverages available for purchase. Additionally, for all Thirsty Thursday games this season, college students can purchase two tickets for the price of one with a valid student ID only at the Power Box Office. After the final out, fans will be treated to the best fireworks show in the Kanawha Valley, along with a postgame concert.

The opening homestand continues with Welcome to Seattle Night, where we will commemorate the team's new affiliation with the Mariners. The fourth annual BrewFest CharlieWest is set for Saturday, April 13, with the Heavy Hitters returning to perform two 45-minute sets, while our $30.00 Party Deck ticket and beer voucher deal is back for another go-round. Also packed into the club's first seven home games is the first Kid's Sunday Funday, Family Buck Night and Two for Tuesday, with two new elements, the Fan Fun Run and a two-for-one ticket special, debuting Tuesday, April 16. For all Tuesday home games (not including the All-Star Game), fans can purchase two tickets for the price of one only at the Power Box Office. Also, if the Power wins any Tuesday home game this season, all fans at Appalachian Power Park are invited to run the bases postgame. The premier homestand concludes with the first of two Grand Slam School Days, where hundreds of school children will descend to downtown Charleston to take in an early morning Power game, kicking off at 10:35 a.m.

Our first premium giveaway of the season highlights the rest of the April promotional slate, with fans earning the chance to receive a Josh Bell cowbell giveaway on April 27. Saturday's ringing celebration is also Will Ferrell Night, while the Power will also put on an MLB Jr. Home Run Derby and a concert after the game.

April Promotions

Thursday, April 11 - Thirsty Thursday/Postgame Fireworks and Concert/Magnet Schedule Giveaway

Friday, April 12 - Welcome to Seattle Night

Saturday, April 13 - 4th Annual BrewFest CharlieWest with a performance from the Heavy Hitters

Sunday, April 14 - Kid's Sunday Funday

Monday, April 15 - Family Buck Night/Easter Egg Hunt with the Charleston Police Department

Tuesday, April 16 - Two for Tuesday/Fan Fun Run

Wednesday, April 17 - Grand Slam School Day

Monday, April 22 - Family Buck Night

Tuesday, April 23 - Two for Tuesday/University of Charleston Night/Fan Fun Run

Wednesday, April 24 - Pets in the Park

Thursday, April 25 - Thirsty Thursday/NFL Draft Day

Friday, April 26 - Postgame Fireworks

Saturday, April 27 - Josh Bell Cowbell Giveaway/Will Ferrell Day/MLB Jr. HR Derby/Postgame Concert

Sunday, April 28 - Kid's Sunday Funday

The month of May brings two dynamic giveaways to Appalachian Power Park, including an Austin Meadows bobblehead as a part of Redneck Night on Saturday, May 25, while fans can snag a red, white and blue fanny pack on Saturday, May 11, during Military Appreciation Night, presented by Poca Valley Bank. In addition, the Power will host West Virginia's largest Memorial Day cookout on Monday, May 27, during its 2:05 p.m. bout with Lexington.

The season's second month also comes with our final Grand Slam School Day on Monday, May 13, and two Two for Tuesdays, Pets in the Park Nights, Thirsty Thursdays, postgame firework nights and Kid's Sunday Fundays.

May Promotions

Wednesday, May 8 - Pets in the Park

Thursday, May 9 - Thirsty Thursday

Friday, May 10 - Postgame Fireworks

Saturday, May 11 - Red, White and Blue Fanny Pack Giveaway/Military Appreciation Night

Sunday, May 12 - Kid's Sunday Funday

Monday, May 13 - Grand Slam School Day

Tuesday, May 21 - Two for Tuesday/Fan Fun Run

Wednesday, May 22 - Pets in the Park

Thursday, May 23 - Thirsty Thursday

Friday, May 24 - Postgame Fireworks

Saturday, May 25 - Austin Meadows Bobblehead Giveaway/Redneck Night/MiLB Sun Care Initiative

Sunday, May 26 - Kid's Sunday Funday/MiLB Sun Care Initiative

Monday, May 27 - Family Buck Day/Memorial Day Cookout/MiLB Sun Care Initiative

Tuesday, May 28 - Two for Tuesday/Fan Fun Run

As the first half winds down, it culminates with a celebration of the 15th season of Power baseball and the 2019 South Atlantic League All-Star Game. On June 8, fans will receive a canvas, sponsored by Appalachian Power, depicting 15 of the best Power players in team history, as voted on by the fans. The team's last first half weekend also includes a pennant giveaway to the first 500 fans on Power of Pride Night June 6, presented by Rainbow Pride of WV, and a postgame fireworks show June 7, courtesy of the West Virginia Lottery.

More All-Star Week festivities will be announced at a later date.

When the Power returns home for the first time in the second half June 27, it will signal the start of Wheelers Weekend, with PBS Kids Day, presented by WV Public, and a postgame fireworks show, courtesy of Huntington Bank, kicking things off Friday, June 28, and a Dan Wilson Wheelers replica jersey giveaway headlining the three-day throwback to one of Charleston's former monikers. The homestand wraps up with the Power's Independence Day celebration July 3 against the Hickory Crawdads, which will include the largest fireworks show of the season, presented by AARP Salute to Service.

June Promotions

Thursday, June 6 - Thirsty Thursday/Power of Pride Night/Pennant Giveaway

Friday, June 7 - Postgame Fireworks

Saturday, June 8 - 15 Years of the Power Celebration/15-Best Power Player Canvas Giveaway

Sunday, June 9 - Kid's Sunday Funday

Monday, June 10 - Family Buck Night

Tuesday, June 11 - Two for Tuesday/Fan Fun Run

Wednesday, June 12 - Pets in the Park

Tuesday, June 18 - Home Run Derby/All-Star Game

Friday, June 28 - Postgame Fireworks/Wheelers Weekend/PBS Kids Day

Saturday, June 29 - Dan Wilson Wheelers Replica Jersey Giveaway/Wheelers Weekend

Sunday, June 30 - Kid's Sunday Funday/Wheelers Weekend

July is jam-packed with promotions, as fans will experience a smattering of the best holidays throughout the year in the span of nine games, beginning July 10 with a Halloween-themed Pets in the Park night.

Monday, July 15 will feature a Valentine's Day special, while Olympics Night follows July 16 and Thanksgiving comes to Charleston July 18. On July 19, the Power will celebrate Christmas in July, as well as host Faith and Family Night, presented by Mako Medical Laboratories. As it was in 2018, the winner of the 2019 Power Factor competition, put on by NewLife 94.5, will perform pregame, while a fireworks show follows the game, courtesy of TransCanada. July's promotional lineup concludes with a cooler bag giveaway on Outdoors Night July 20, Kid's Sunday Funday July 21 and Pets in the Park July 31.

July Promotions

Monday, July 1 - Family Buck Night

Tuesday, July 2 - Two for Tuesday/Fan Fun Run

Wednesday, July 3 - Independence Day Celebration/Postgame Fireworks

Tuesday, July 9 - Two for Tuesday/Fan Fun Run

Wednesday, July 10 - Halloween/Pets in the Park

Thursday, July 11 - Thirsty Thursday

Monday, July 15 - Family Buck Night/Valentine's Day/Joe Torre Domestic Violence Awareness

Tuesday, July 16 - Olympics Night/Two for Tuesday/Fan Fun Run

Wednesday, July 17 - Kids Day/Business Persons Special

Thursday, July 18 - Thirsty Thursday/Thanksgiving/Food Drive

Friday, July 19 - Faith and Family Night/Christmas in July/Toy Drive/Postgame Fireworks

Saturday, July 20 - Cooler Bag Giveaway/Outdoors Night/Scout Night

Sunday, July 21 - Kid's Sunday Funday

Wednesday, July 31 - Pets in the Park

The month of August sees the final three giveaways of the season handed out, igniting August 3 with a back-to-school-themed giveaway, while the Power will host an International Heritage Week from August 1-5 amongst a Thirsty Thursday, Kid's Sunday Funday, and Family Buck Night. As the season starts to wind down, we will put another fireworks show on display August 16, courtesy of Poca Valley Bank. On August 17, we will hand out our penultimate giveaway, a prospect t-shirt of a player to be named later, sponsored by Marshall Orthopaedics.

Meanwhile, the final giveaway of the season comes on August 24, sponsored by the Charleston Building and Construction Trades Council, while the final two fireworks shows will occur August 23 and 30. The Power will also host a special celebrity appearance on August 31, with more details to come later in the year. West Virginia signs off on the 2019 regular season Monday, September 2, with a Labor Day matinee against the Greensboro Grasshoppers at 2:05 p.m. All Family Buck Night specials will be in effect for the 2019 regular season finale.

August and September Promotions

Thursday, August 1 - Thirsty Thursday/First Responder's Night/International Heritage Week

Friday, August 2 - Postgame Fireworks/International Heritage Week

Saturday, August 3 - Back to School Giveaway/International Heritage Week

Sunday, August 4 - Kid's Sunday Funday/International Heritage Week

Monday, August 5 - Family Buck Night/International Heritage Week

Tuesday, August 6 - Two for Tuesday/Fan Fun Run

Thursday, August 15 - Thirsty Thursday

Friday, August 16 - Postgame Fireworks

Saturday, August 17 - Prospect T-Shirt Giveaway

Sunday, August 18 - Kid's Sunday Funday

Friday, August 23 - Postgame Fireworks

Saturday, August 24 - Giveaway

Sunday, August 25 - Kid's Sunday Funday

Friday, August 30 - Postgame Fireworks

Saturday, August 31 - Special Celebrity Appearance

Sunday, September 1 - Kid's Sunday Funday

Monday, September 2 - Labor Day/Bellies and Baseball: A celebration of pregnancy/Family Buck Night

All promotions, giveaways, appearances and events are subject to change without notice. More promotional details, including more information on the 2019 All-Star Week, will be released as they become available. For more information on our promotions, visit https://www.milb.com/west-virginia-power/tickets/promotions.

The 2019 season kicks off April 4, 2019, the Power returns home to Appalachian Power Park April 11, and the 2019 South Atlantic League All-Star Game is set for Tuesday, June 18, with a 7:35 p.m. first pitch. Full season and mini-plan packages are available now by calling 304-344-BATS or visiting wvpower.com.


• Discuss this story on the South Atlantic League message board...

South Atlantic League Stories from February 28, 2019


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent West Virginia Power Stories



Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew