Looking for stats?

WHL Graduates Capture All Canada West University Hockey Awards

February 28, 2013 - Western Hockey League (WHL) News Release

Calgary, AB -- The Western Hockey League is proud to announce that 100% of all Canada West University Hockey Award winners and Canada West University Hockey All Stars are graduates of the WHL. All are currently utilizing Western Canada's Premier Hockey Scholarship, a combination of the guaranteed WHL Scholarship and additional financial assistance provided by each individual Canada West Men's Hockey University program.

Saskatoon Blades and Tri-City Americans WHL graduate and fourth-year University of Manitoba forward Blair Macaulay has been named the 2012-13 Canada West men's hockey Most Valuable Player and CIS Sullivan Trophy nominee.

Macaulay becomes only the second player to repeat as conference MVP since the award's inception in 1978-79 and is only the second Manitoba Bison (Paul Deniset in 2004-05) to win the honour.

The 24-year-old Winnipeg native finished tied for second in conference scoring with 35 points (12 goals, 23 assists), while playing all 28 conference games. He was also top 10 in numerous Canada West categories including assists (tied for second with 23), goals (tied for eighth with 12), plus/minus rating (tied for ninth with +16), power play assists (tied for eighth with eight), shots on goal (second with 103) and game-winning goals (tied for third with four).

Macaulay was named Husky-WHL Graduate of the Month for January after collecting 4-11-15 over eight games. The 5-11, 185-pound forward also had a nine-game point streak from Dec. 1-Jan. 26, during which he recorded 18 points.

"Blair is a quality person and student who is an excellent representative of the University of Manitoba and the CIS," commented Bison men's hockey head coach Mike Sirant. "He is a highly competitive athlete who plays the game with passion and pride. His on-ice strengths are his speed, skill and vision but it is his ability to make plays at top end speed that make him a special player. Blair's leadership style is to lead by example as he is highly respected for his exceptional work ethic in practices, games and in the gym."

WHL Graduates Capturing Canada West University Hockey Awards

Most Valuable Player (Sullivan Trophy nominee as CIS Player of the Year): Blair Macaulay, Manitoba (SAS, TC)

Dave "Sweeney" Schriner Scoring Trophy: Kyle Bortis, Saskatchewan (SC, CAL)

Mervyn "Red" Dutton Trophy (Outstanding defenceman): Jesse Craige, Alberta (LET, CWK)

University of Alberta Hockey Alumni Trophy (Outstanding Freshman): James Henry, Manitoba

UBC Hockey Alumni Trophy (Sportsmanship & Ability): Jordan Hickmott, Alberta (MH, PA, EDM)

Dr. Randy Gregg Award (Athletic ability, Academics & Citizenship): Greg Gardner, Alberta (PG)

Adam Kryczka Memorial Trophy (Canada West only, best team GAA): Real Cyr (PG) & Kurtis Mucha (POR, KAM), Alberta


First Team Second Team

G: Kurtis Mucha, Alberta Jordan White, UBC

D: Jesse Craige, Alberta Thomas Carr, Alberta

D: Dane Crowley, Manitoba Jeremy Schappert, Manitoba

F: Kyle Bortis, Saskatchewan Tyler Dittmer, Manitoba

F: Jordan Hickmott, Alberta Johnny Lazo, Alberta

F: Blair Macaulay, Manitoba Brock Nixon, Calgary

Award winners are now finalists for Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) annual awards, to be handed out during University Cup week, March 14-17 in Saskatoon: http://bit.ly/gETCL5

The Canada West championship takes place this weekend. Each game can be viewed live on canadawest.tv. In addition to a conference banner, the winner also heads to the CIS University Cup, hosted at Credit Union Centre in Saskatoon by the University of Saskatchewan.

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from February 28, 2013

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.