NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Sky Blue FC Announces Updated 2021 Preseason Roster

March 2, 2021 - National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) - Sky Blue FC News Release

Harrison, NJ - Sky Blue FC announced today its updated 27-player preseason roster for the 2021 National Women's Soccer League season. The 2021 season begins with the 2021 NWSL Challenge Cup on April 9. The Challenge Cup will be followed by a 24-match regular season is scheduled to begin on May 15.

The Club now features 24 players in camp, including returning forwards Paige Monaghan, Ifeoma Onumonu, and Margaret "Midge" Purce; midfielders Nicole Baxter, Jennifer Cudjoe, Elizabeth Eddy, Nahomi Kawasumi, Sodam Lee, Domi Richardson, Kenie Wright, and McCall Zerboni; defenders Imani Dorsey, Caprice Dydasco, Sabrina Flores, Mandy Freeman, Estelle Johnson, Gina Lewandowski, and Erica Skroski; and goalkeepers DiDi Haracic, Megan Hinz, and Amanda "Mandy" McGlynn.

All of Sky Blue FC's 2021 NWSL Draft picks, including Brianna Pinto (UNC), Taryn Torres (UVA), Delanie Sheehan (UCLA), and Tess Boade (Duke), have elected to remain in college through at the least the conclusion of the 2021 college spring season.

Non-roster invitees include midfielders Taylor Aylmer, Grace Cutler, and Claire Winter. Forward Mikaela Howell, who started preseason with Sky Blue FC, is no longer in camp.

Forwards Carli Lloyd and Evelyne Viens will be reporting to camp in early March following a successful SheBelieves Cup for the USWNT and CanWNT, respectively. Goalkeeper Kailen Sheridan, unfortunately, suffered a right hip injury during the SheBelieves Cup and is currently rehabbing.

Sky Blue FC is preparing for the 2021 NWSL Challenge Cup beginning on April 9 and a 24-match season kicking off on May 15. Digital Memberships are on sale now here. Season Ticket Memberships will be available at a later date.

2021 Sky Blue FC Preseason Roster (27 players):

GOALKEEPERS (4): Kailen Sheridan (ALL-CAN), DiDi Haracic, Megan Hinz, Amanda "Mandy" McGlynn

DEFENDERS (7): Imani Dorsey, Caprice Dydasco, Sabrina Flores, Mandy Freeman, Estelle Johnson, Gina Lewandowski, Erica Skroski

MIDFIELDERS (11): Taylor Aylmer (NRI), Nicole Baxter, Grace Cutler (NRI), Jennifer Cudjoe (INTL), Elizabeth Eddy, Nahomi Kawasumi (INTL), Sodam Lee (INTL), Domi Richardson, Claire Winter (NRI), Kenie Wright, McCall Zerboni

FORWARDS (5): Carli Lloyd (ALL-USA, NYR), Paige Monaghan, Ifeoma Onumonu, Margaret "Midge" Purce (ALL-USA), Evelyne Viens (INTL, NYR)

- 2021 Allocated Players (ALL): 3

International Players (INTL): 4

Non-roster Invitees: 3


NRI - non-roster invitee

NYR - not yet reported to camp

FED - 2021 Allocated Player

INTL - International Player

• Discuss this story on the National Women's Soccer League message board...

National Women's Soccer League Stories from March 2, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central