NFL, MLB, CFL stats

 Major League Soccer

Philadelphia Union's Jim Curtin Named 2020 Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year

November 17, 2020 - Major League Soccer (MLS) News Release

NEW YORK - Major League Soccer today announced that Philadelphia Union Head Coach Jim Curtin has been named the 2020 Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year.

Password: Union2020 Download Video : Team award presentation and Jim Curtin's reaction Download Video : B-roll of Jim Curtin coaching In 2020, Curtin led Philadelphia to the club's first-ever piece of hardware - the Supporters' Shield - which was awarded by their passionate fans in recognition of the most points per game (2.04) with the best regular season record (14-4-5), earning top seed and homefield advantage in the Audi 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs. During a record-setting season, the Union posted an unblemished 9-0-0 mark at Subaru Park, achieving the first perfect home record over an entire season in league history. Philadelphia led MLS with a mere 20 goals allowed this season, posting 0.87 goals against average that ranks seventh-best in league.

Under Curtin's leadership, the Union have consistently increased their winning percentage each season, an upward trajectory that culminated in 2020 with by far the best mark in club history (.717).

After beginning his coaching career in the Philadelphia Union Academy in 2010, Curtin has moved his way up the club's coaching ranks. He became an assistant coach for the first team in 2012 before taking the helm as head coach in 2014 and leading the club to consecutive U.S. Open Cup Finals (2014, 2015). As a player, Curtin was an MLS All-Star with more than 150 appearances, and he becomes the fifth MLS player all-time to win Supporters' Shield as both a player and a head coach.

Curtin will lead the Philadelphia Union in Round One of the Audi 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs on Nov. 24 when they face the lower advancing team from the Play-In Round.

The 2020 Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media, and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

Coach of the Year Player % Club % Media % Final %

Jim Curtin (PHI) 33.38% 53.15% 44.49% 43.68%

Oscar Pareja (ORL) 20.73% 18.92% 32.42% 24.02%

Greg Vanney (TOR) 4.57% 5.41% 4.24% 4.74%

Giovanni Savarese (POR) 4.27% 5.41% 3.81% 4.50%

Caleb Porter (CLB) 5.64% 2.70% 2.33% 3.56%

Peter Vermes (SKC) 3.66% 3.60% 2.75% 3.34%

Gary Smith (NSH) 2.29% 3.60% 4.03% 3.31%

Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year Winners:

2020: Jim Curtin - Philadelphia Union

2019: Bob Bradley - Los Angeles Football Club

2018: Gerardo "Tata" Martino - Atlanta United

2017: Greg Vanney - Toronto FC

2016: Oscar Pareja - FC Dallas

2015: Jesse Marsch - New York Red Bulls

2014: Ben Olsen - D.C. United

2013: Caleb Porter - Portland Timbers

2012: Frank Yallop - San Jose Earthquakes

2011: Bruce Arena - LA Galaxy

2010: Schellas Hyndman - FC Dallas

2009: Bruce Arena - LA Galaxy

2008: Sigi Schmid - Columbus Crew SC

2007: Preki - Chivas USA

2006: Bob Bradley - Chivas USA

2005: Dominic Kinnear - San Jose Earthquakes

2004: Greg Andrulis - Columbus Crew SC

2003: Dave Sarachan - Chicago Fire

2002: Steve Nicol - New England Revolution

2001: Frank Yallop - San Jose Earthquakes

2000: Bob Gansler - Kansas City Wizards

1999: Sigi Schmid - LA Galaxy

1998: Bob Bradley - Chicago Fire

1997: Bruce Arena - D.C. United

1996: Thomas Rongen - Tampa Bay Mutiny

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 17, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central