NFL, MLB, CFL stats

NWSL Announces 2019 Rookie of the Year

October 29, 2019 - National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) News Release

Chicago - Reign FC forward Bethany Balcer has been named the 2019 National Women's Soccer League Rookie of the Year, the league announced Tuesday. Last week, Balcer was also named to the NWSL's 2019 Second XI. The 22-year old who made history for becoming the first player from an NAIA school to sign an NWSL contract is also the first Reign FC player to receive the award. The rookie title was voted on by the club officials, players, media and fans.

Balcer appeared in all 24 regular season matches for Reign FC scoring six goals and assisting two goals. Balcer's eight points in 2019 ranked tied for 14th in the league and she was tied for fifth this season with 55 shots. Balcer led all Reign FC players in goals (6), shots on goal (22) and was tied for first in points (8).

In Week 7, Balcer added to her incredible debut season by earning Goal of the Week honors for her header off the bar in Reign FC's 2-1 win against North Carolina Courage. She would add another goal that week in Reign FC's 1-1 draw against Houston Dash. The 22-year old also scored in the 80th minute of Reign FC's crucial 2-0 victory over Portland Thorns FC on September 29 securing Reign FC the final playoff spot.

Washington Spirit players Jordan DiBiasi and Sam Staab finished in second and third respectively in rookie voting this year.


Balcer 57.9%

DiBiasi 19.6%

Staab 22.5%

The list of finalists was decided after a preliminary round of voting by owners, general managers, coaches, players and media. The finalists were then voted on by fans, owners, general managers, coaches, players and media.

Voting Breakdown:

Preliminary Round: Owners/GMs/Coaches (25%), Media (25%) and Players (50%)

Final Round: Fans (20%), Owners/GMs/Coaches (20%), Media (20%) and Players (40%)

Full list of NWSL Rookies of the Year

2013: Erika Tymrak, FC Kansas City

2014: Julie Johnston, Chicago Red Stars

2015: Danielle Colaprico, Chicago Red Stars

2016: Raquel Rodriguez, Sky Blue FC

2017: Ashley Hatch, North Carolina Courage

2018: Imani Dorsey, Sky Blue FC

2019: Bethany Balcer, Reign FC

• Discuss this story on the National Women's Soccer League message board...

National Women's Soccer League Stories from October 29, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central