NFL, MLB, CFL stats

 United Soccer League Championship

Nashville's Pickens Voted Championship's Goalkeeper of the Year

November 19, 2019 - United Soccer League Championship (USL) News Release

TAMPA, Fla. - Nashville SC's Matt Pickens may have just completed his 16th professional season, but he shows no signs of slowing down.

The 37-year-old was named the USL Championship's 2019 Goalkeeper of the Year on Tuesday after a remarkable season that saw him star for the side with the best defensive record in the league. Pickens adds the honor to the previously awarded Championship Golden Glove, claimed last month after he posted a 0.64 goals-against average in 25 regular-season appearances for the club.

Pickens posted a save percentage of 79.8 percent during the regular season, the highest among goalkeepers to have recorded at least 40 saves, while his 14 shutouts also led the league in the regular season. His shutout total saw him surpass 100 for his career, a landmark figure for the veteran shot-stopper.

After being nominated as a finalist for the Championship's Goalkeeper of the Year honor a season ago, Pickens maintained his upper-echelon standard as NSC finished second in the Championship's Eastern Conference.

WATCH: 2019 USL Championship Goalkeeper of the Year - Matt Pickens, Nashville SC

The 2019 USL Championship Awards were voted on by team management and a league-wide media panel that included representation from every USL Championship market. Voting was conducted following the conclusion of the 2019 Championship regular season.

2019 USL Championship Awards

Goalkeeper of the Year: Matt Pickens, Nashville SC

Defender of the Year: Announced November 19

Coach of the Year: Announced November 20

Young Player of the Year: Announced November 20

Most Valuable Player: Announced November 21

USL Championship Goalkeeper of the Year

2011: Miguel Gallardo, Orlando City SC

2012: Kristian Nicht, Rochester Rhinos

2013: Andrew Dykstra, Richmond Kickers

2014: John McCarthy, Rochester Rhinos

2015: Brandon Miller, Rochester Rhinos

2016: Mitch Hildebrandt, FC Cincinnati

2017: Diego Restrepo, San Antonio FC

2018: Maxime Crepeau, Ottawa Fury FC

• Discuss this story on the United Soccer League Championship message board...

United Soccer League Championship Stories from November 19, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central