NFL, NBA, NHL stats

MacIntyre Named Rbk Hockey/AHL Player of the Week

February 27, 2008 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - The American Hockey League announced that former Toledo and current Manitoba goaltender Drew MacIntyre has been named the Rbk Hockey/AHL Player of the Week for the period ending Feb. 24.

Victoria is the ECHL affiliate of Manitoba. The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 29 teams in the AHL, marking the seventh consecutive season that it has had affiliations with 20 or more teams in the AHL. The AHL has 10 former ECHL coaches who are head coaches and 14 others who are assistant coaches, and there have been more than 100 players under contract to a team in the AHL who have been on an ECHL roster this year.

After beginning his week making 29 saves and scoring the game-winning goal in a 2-1 overtime win at Chicago on Feb. 20, MacIntyre stopped 41 shots in a 4-1 win at Grand Rapids on Feb. 22. He ended the week turning aside 28 of 29 shots in a 1-0 loss to Grand Rapids, finishing the week 2-1-0 with a goals-against average of 0.98 and a save percentage of .970.

Selected in the fourth round (121st overall) by Detroit in the 2001 NHL Entry Draft, the 24 year old MacIntyre played parts of three seasons for Toledo where he was 30-12-2 with two shutouts, a goals-against average of 2.25 and a save percentage of .921 in 46 regular season games from 2003-06. In 2005-06 with Toledo, he was 24-7-2 with two shutouts while leading the ECHL with a goals-against average of 2.06 and ranking third with a save percentage of .926 in 33 regular season games. He was 5-1 and led the 2006 Kelly Cup Playoffs with a goals-against average of 2.00 while tying for fourth with a save percentage of .924.

Other former ECHL players nominated for the Rbk Hockey/AHL Player of the Week were Barry Brust, Frank Doyle, Wade Flaherty, Alex Foster, Boyd Kane, Eric Neilson, Trevor Smith and Mike Wall.

MacIntyre is the seventh ECHL player to be named the Rbk Hockey/AHL Player of the Week this season, joining Sean Curry (Dec. 16), Jaroslav Halak (Jan. 6) and Grant Stevenson (Jan. 20), Danny Taylor and Miika Wiikman (Jan. 27) and Andrew Gordon (Feb. 10).

The last three winners of the CCM/AHL Player of the Month award are former ECHL right wing Grant Stevenson, former Gwinnett Gladiator and ECHL All-Star left wing Pascal Pelletier and former ECHL All-Star Martin St. Pierre. Former Las Vegas and Wheeling goaltender John Curry was the Rbk Edge/AHL Rookie of the Month for December and former ECHL All-Star Jeff Glass was the Rbk X-Pulse/AHL Goaltender of the Month for November.

For the 18th year in a row there is a former ECHL player on the American Hockey League champion as Hamilton had a record 12 players with ECHL experience on its roster.

In both 2005-06 and 2006-07, more than 225 players played in both the ECHL and the AHL and there were over 800 call ups, involving over 500 players, from the ECHL to the AHL. From 2002-03 to 2006-07, the ECHL had over 2,000 call ups, involving more than 1,000 players, which is more than the total call ups for all other professional leagues combined during that time period.

The AHL Player of the Week award was won 14 times by a former ECHL player in 2006-07 while a former ECHL goaltender was named the AHL Goaltender of the Month the last five months of the season. Six former ECHL players were on the All-AHL Teams in 2006-07 including former Charlotte goaltender Jason LaBarbera, who was named Goaltender of the Year, and former Mississippi defenseman Sheldon Brookbank, who was selected as Defenseman of the Year, while former ECHL goaltender Jaroslav Halak was named to the AHL All-Rookie team.

The ECHL, celebrating its 20th Anniversary in 2007-08, is the Premier 'AA' Hockey League and the third-longest tenured professional hockey league behind only the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League.

ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown to be a coast-to-coast league with 25 teams playing 900 games in 17 states and British Columbia in 2007-08.

The league officially changed its name to ECHL on May 19, 2003.

The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 30 teams in the NHL in 2007-08, marking the 11th consecutive season that the league has had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL.

There have been 350 former ECHL players who have gone on to play in the NHL after playing in the ECHL, including 94 in the last three seasons.

There have been 205 former ECHL players who have played their first game in the NHL in the past seven seasons.

There are 15 coaches in the NHL who have ECHL experience including former Wheeling coach Peter Laviolette, who is head coach of the Carolina Hurricanes, and former Mississippi coach Bruce Boudreau, who is head coach of the Washington Capitals.

The ECHL is represented for the seventh consecutive year on the National Hockey League championship team in 2007 with Anaheim assistant coach Dave Farrish, players Francois Beauchemin and George Parros and broadcasters John Ahlers and Steve Carroll.

Further information on the ECHL is available from its website at

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from February 27, 2008

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew